8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I filled the flour tortillas with Calabacita the way I make it, which is with corn, onion and tomato seasoned with Cumin and garlic then I added the cheese and rolled them up. This addition really made the flavor much better. They serve these at Sylvia's Enchilada Kitchen. Very tasty!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiki68 July 01, 2011

I don't think this recipe was for us. It's GREAT if you have extra zucchini around which we definitely did thanks to the one I planted. We found the sauce pretty bland even after I put a finely diced fresh Jalapeno (about 1 tbsp), 1/4 tsp white pepper, and a shallot (about 1 1/2 tbsp) in with the green chilis. I agree with everything LonghornMama said. The zucchini is very mild and these almost taste like cheese enchiladas. DB said he would rather have cheese enchiladas because the zucchini made them "to wet". I kind of liked the mild zucchini taste myself. I added diced green onions, cilantro, sour cream, and cherry tomatoes cut in 1/2 to the top. We thought that the recipe made at least 3 if not 6 servings it was very filling. Sadly.. I don't think I'll be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy August 06, 2008

Made as directed with fresh flour tortillas and enjoyed the recipe. Enchiladas are creamy and very mild, in fact for my tastes I would either double the chiles or use a hotter pepper in the sauce. Zucchini has such a mild flavor that it's not very obvious in the dish. Great recipe to keep in mind for the summer when zucchini is plentiful. Servings should be 3-6, I found once enchi very filling. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama June 10, 2008

We loved this recipe! I took another reviewers advice and added shredded chicken I had left over. I also used fat free sour cream and lowfat cheese. The recipe nutrition facts are deceiving if you just glance at them, but if you read them they say this recipe is only two servings. I fed four people on this, with leftovers! Absolutely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenti October 21, 2007

I love this recipe! I worried a bit about the fat content so that's the only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5. The flavor was superb. I added some jalepenos to the filling. I will try adding some chicken next time and there will for sure be a next time. A real keeper. Very unique sauce - I had to make myself stop "testing" it. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzeCooks August 27, 2007

We enjoyed this. I had some leftover chicken that I added to the filling along with some mushrooms. A nice change from the chicken enchiladas that we usually have. The whole family enjoyed the meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawnee TX October 28, 2006

These were creamy, very mild and good! I used 1 1/2 poblano peppers for the chiles and I did not need to char/peel them first. I also added 1/2 cup sauteed cremini mushrooms to the filling! This was a nice change from traditional enchiladas. Thank you Muffin Goddess! (These are very filling enchiladas so I think there are more than 2 servings)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog October 02, 2006

Terrific dish. I made two small changes: - Corn tortillas instead of flour ones. -Chopped the zucchinis and sautéed them with onions and cumin. I will definitely make these enchiladas over and over again. Thank you Muffin Goddess for posting this recipe. =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsPia September 28, 2006
Enchiladas De Calabacitas Con Salsa Crema De Chile (Zucchini Enc