12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A really good balance of flavors, with no weird ingredients. Nicely done. I made with chicken (we pre-grill it and shred it with a couple of forks) and used cilantro in place of parsley. It's really tasty to me if you use something like cast iron and throw the onions in first and caramelize them. I also like to broil a dish like this for the last few minutes to brown the surface and give it a little extra texture. Even if you only use this recipe for the red enchilada sauce, it's a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
milletre September 10, 2008

yummy, yummy. yummy and so easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nclpalacios August 01, 2010

i must have done something wrong. loved the sauce but the enchiladas were really soggy. if someone will tell me what i did wrong i'll gladly try this again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef grannybarb July 01, 2010

sorry for the rating but i was expecting more from this recipe....i was looking for a better recipe than what i typically make.....and was highly disappointed...the sauce had too muchof a tomato taste....i'm use to more a chili powder base taste for sauce

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babecrisinda July 04, 2009

I just made this to stock my freezer up, I taste tested everything as I was assembling, Yummy! I can't want to eat it all hot and bubbly from the oven. The sauce was super easy to make and tasted better than any canned sauce. Only change I made was to add Garam Masala (spice)to the sauce for a little Indian kinda kick. Next time I will make 1 and a half recipe of the sauce...I would like a little more sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie Gal October 20, 2008

Love it! We used vegeterian hamburger but followed all the rest except for the jalapeno. My family ate every last bite and would have eaten more. Also took to a potluck and the pan was cleaned out quickly. Will make this many more times. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbi Chilson October 13, 2008

Very good!! I made it with chicken instead of beef, but I kept everything else the same. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlamingoSushi May 15, 2008

Enjoyed making this recipe - am not much of a cook but was pleased with the way this recipe turned out. It actually tasted the way I imagined it would. Will be making this again for my family. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Rhanda5 March 13, 2008

These turned out very tasty! I needed a recipe that had mostly scratch ingredients, since I was all out of enchilada sauce and mexican seasoning mixes. Very delicious! I especially liked the sauce - very quick and easy. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Junkie August 31, 2006
Enchiladas