Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2010

      Easy sauce, have made this sauce many times- enough said!! :) P.S. I'm hispanic, it's delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      I loved this recipe. I will use this every time. This is definately better than any store bought brand. I omitted the fresh garlic and used garlic powder instead and I subbed beef stock for chicken broth. If you are looking for a recipe for enchilada sauce...This IS the one! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      THE FLAVORS ARE FANTASTIC!! I was afraid the chili would be too much, it was excellent. I added some chipotle powder for some heat

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I veganized this recipe and it was AMAZING! This is definately my go-to recipe for enchilada sauce. I used white whole wheat flour, extra chili powder, extra cumin, extra garilic, vegan beef broth, koshar salt, and oregano from my garden. I think the extra and fresh spices really made the difference. I may use less or no oil next time, it kept sitting at the top when rested (even when cooked). Try this!! And if you don't like the flavor try changing the brand of your chili powder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      YUM!!! Best I've ever tasted. I minced the garlic and left it in the sauce and added 1/8 square of baking chocolate. It's definately a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      I hesitate leaving a review when I tampered with it, but because this is 5 stars as is and with my modifications, had to leave you a great review! We live in San Antonio, TX ~ Tex Mex capitol of the world! I have searched for a thin, brown, spicy authentic sauce for years to duplicate my fav restaurants ~ and this is IT! I left out the tomato sauce, because, for my taste, it would make it too thick and well, "tomatoey". Like others, I made it with Masa ~ flour would've been just fine. Can't believe I'm writing this part, but I might even have decreased the chili powder just a bit. Loved it, LOVED it ~ authentic Tex Mex enchiladas tonight!!! * Tip: for a super quick cheese enchilada, wrap w/ paper towel and micro 1 corn tortilla (sprayed w/oil on ea side) for 20 sec., spoon in 1 or 2 TBS of cheese, roll & micro, covered w/ towel again, for 20 sec. more. Layer with warm sauce, drizzle more cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Made this tonight for our enchiladas...YUM! I did use chicken stock with a beef bouillion cube thrown in as most of the meat in the 'chiladas was chicken. Added an extra 1/4 to 1/3 C tomato sauce as it would have gone to waste. Tad bit too spicy for 6 year old dd - but perfect for dh and me. I'll definately use again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      Great enchilada sauce and easy to whip up in no time. Doubled the recipe, using part right away and freezing the rest in 10 oz portions. I use Penzey's chili powder and believe it does make a big difference in flavor. Only change I made was to put garlic through a press before whisking into the hot oil. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      Good sauce! Wasn't sure about it on its own, but once made into the enchiladas, it was great! Made recipe as is except minced the garlic and left it in the sauce. yum! Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      Quick and easy, very homemade, authentic taste. Don't waste your time or money on the store bought stuff, this is amazing!!! I wouldn't change a thing!! This is my go-to recipe for Mexican, house smells so yummy, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      This recipe is delicious!!! I don't buy that canned stuff anymore. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      This was very easy to make and tastes great. I went with a little less than 3 tablespoons of the chili powder. I like the depth that the cocoa added. I actually use cocoa in a chili recipe so I knew this would be good. I had all the ingredients on hand so that was a plus too, I don't usually keep the canned enchilada sauce in my pantry so this worked out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      Best one I've tried!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Loved it!! I halved this recipe to use in Chicken Tamale Casserole (Cooking Light) and it was FANTASTIC will definately be using this whenever I need enchilada sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      LOVED this. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      Wonderful sauce!! I used this over cheese enchiladas. I was out of cumin, so I omitted it. No beef broth, so I used water. It was still terrific. I know it will be even better with these ingredients next time and I might try some chipotle chili powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      This was just great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Ive been using this recipe now for a while and I must say its amazing. I will say the secret to this recipe is finding the right chili powder. If you find you dont like the flavor, try other chili powders. I use a "new mexico chili powder" that comes in a small plastic packet with white paper on top, and its by far my favorite. I get it at QFC, but there are so many variations out there. More chili powder will normally kill the "tomatoish" flavor. I use 1/3 cup instead of 1/4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      A great enchilada sauce and one I'll gladly make again! I used masa harina instead of flour, only three tablespoons of chili powder, and a dash of sugar to cut the tomato tang (acidity) of the canned sauce. I omitted salt altogether since my broth was made from high sodium bouillon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      The biggest problem with the generic "chili powder" is that there are scores of different ones. Read the label. Also, "beef broth" is full of about everything but beef, including huge amounts of salt. there cant be any consistency in a recipe like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Sauces Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (1008 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.9
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    65%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1909.2 mg
    79%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes