44 Reviews

Easy sauce, have made this sauce many times- enough said!! :) P.S. I'm hispanic, it's delicious

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bettyboop043 January 22, 2010

I loved this recipe. I will use this every time. This is definately better than any store bought brand. I omitted the fresh garlic and used garlic powder instead and I subbed beef stock for chicken broth. If you are looking for a recipe for enchilada sauce...This IS the one! Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef FIFI November 21, 2005

THE FLAVORS ARE FANTASTIC!! I was afraid the chili would be too much, it was excellent. I added some chipotle powder for some heat

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jleblanc00 April 20, 2011

I veganized this recipe and it was AMAZING! This is definately my go-to recipe for enchilada sauce. I used white whole wheat flour, extra chili powder, extra cumin, extra garilic, vegan beef broth, koshar salt, and oregano from my garden. I think the extra and fresh spices really made the difference. I may use less or no oil next time, it kept sitting at the top when rested (even when cooked). Try this!! And if you don't like the flavor try changing the brand of your chili powder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Your Mom July 11, 2010

YUM!!! Best I've ever tasted. I minced the garlic and left it in the sauce and added 1/8 square of baking chocolate. It's definately a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woimae April 08, 2010

I hesitate leaving a review when I tampered with it, but because this is 5 stars as is and with my modifications, had to leave you a great review! We live in San Antonio, TX ~ Tex Mex capitol of the world! I have searched for a thin, brown, spicy authentic sauce for years to duplicate my fav restaurants ~ and this is IT! I left out the tomato sauce, because, for my taste, it would make it too thick and well, "tomatoey". Like others, I made it with Masa ~ flour would've been just fine. Can't believe I'm writing this part, but I might even have decreased the chili powder just a bit. Loved it, LOVED it ~ authentic Tex Mex enchiladas tonight!!! * Tip: for a super quick cheese enchilada, wrap w/ paper towel and micro 1 corn tortilla (sprayed w/oil on ea side) for 20 sec., spoon in 1 or 2 TBS of cheese, roll & micro, covered w/ towel again, for 20 sec. more. Layer with warm sauce, drizzle more cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetpeasMommy April 07, 2010

Made this tonight for our enchiladas...YUM! I did use chicken stock with a beef bouillion cube thrown in as most of the meat in the 'chiladas was chicken. Added an extra 1/4 to 1/3 C tomato sauce as it would have gone to waste. Tad bit too spicy for 6 year old dd - but perfect for dh and me. I'll definately use again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TransplantedHusker September 06, 2008

Great enchilada sauce and easy to whip up in no time. Doubled the recipe, using part right away and freezing the rest in 10 oz portions. I use Penzey's chili powder and believe it does make a big difference in flavor. Only change I made was to put garlic through a press before whisking into the hot oil. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama September 04, 2013

Good sauce! Wasn't sure about it on its own, but once made into the enchiladas, it was great! Made recipe as is except minced the garlic and left it in the sauce. yum! Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 April 14, 2013

Quick and easy, very homemade, authentic taste. Don't waste your time or money on the store bought stuff, this is amazing!!! I wouldn't change a thing!! This is my go-to recipe for Mexican, house smells so yummy, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandrajsutton July 26, 2012
Enchilada Sauce