Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2012

      Great recipe! We substituted vegetable broth for the chicken stock and upped the amount a bit to get a more saucy consistency. It turned out awesome!
      UPDATE: substituted an 8oz can on tomato sauce for the tomato paste, and it was much improved.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

      This is my go to sauce. It is easy, tasty and quick. Since I am gluten free, I always leave the flour out and never have a problem with it being thick enough. I like it thick so this works well, but if you like a thin sauce like out of the can thin, you could probably get away with adding another cup and half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      This is what I call a GRG (Great Recipe for Gringos). These are recipes that help free us from the bondage of bottled and jarred sauces. Tonight was the second time my fiancee and I have tried this sauce, and, while tasty, we found two main issues. One, the amount of tomato paste made it a little too sweet for our tastes. Two, we felt it needed a little bit more heat than what just the chili powder was bringing to the party. So, we used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste and 4 oz. of plain canned tomato sauce to cut down on the sweetness, and "kicked it up a notch" (Sorry Emeril. Please, don't sue me.) with some habanero hot sauce. For those of you who like it somewhere in the middle, a teaspoon (give or take) of cayenne would do wonders. Buena suerte mis amigos en la cocina.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      This enchilada sauce tastes pretty good, but is quite thick. Several times I tried to thin this tomato paste-based sauce by adding more chicken stock, but each time it quickly thickened back up. Then during baking, the sauce on my enchiladas dried up a lot more than I would have liked. So while this is a quick and easy recipe, it's one I probably won't make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Great flavor and super easy to make. We loved the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Excellent sauce! My husband said he's never had better enchiladas. I subbed butter for vegetable oil and used garlic salt instead of plain slat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      Thanks for this recipe! I just might start making it from scratch from now on. I used 'mi cocina' chili powder that comes in a bag in the Mexican section. It already has extra spices in it so I skiped the oregano and cumin. It was probably 3 Tbs so a little short. Also I used 2-6oz pastes since I didn't want to waste an open one. I added 1 more cup of broth to compensate and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Much better than store-bought and not difficult to make. This worked better for me than some of the other enchilada sauce recipes on the site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      Great. I actually used the pan drippings from my beef/chorizo filling instead of the oil - yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      This worked well in HeliWif's Cottage Cheese Enchilidas Cottage Cheese Enchiladas. Since prepared enchilada sauce is nonexistent where I live, this is a big help. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2004

      Great sauce. I loved that it was heavy, like it should be and not thin like the canned junk. The cooking of the chili powder did tend to make the flavor bloom better. Thank you and I hope you get back to Texas. Keep'em coming. Elizee9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2003

      I really liked this sauce. By "cooking" the chili powder with the oil and flour, the flavor was great. I did have to add more salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (853 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.2
     
    Calories from Fat 191
    53%
    Total Fat 21.2 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 5.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 1856.6 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 17.9 g
    71%
    Protein 12.0 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites