Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2006

      Will definitely use this recipe again. I didn't have any tomato sauce on hand, but I did happen to have exactly 6 oz. of frozen leftover pizza sauce, so I used that instead. I didn't bother then with the basil or parsley, but added some dried cilantro.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      Based on the way my hybrid tasted, I'm sure that the unadulterated recipe would be great! Thanks Kimke--I didn't know it could be so quick, easy and tasty! I tripled the recipe with the following substitutions: used powdered garlic and onion instead of fresh, used 'bukovitz'--crushed and dried paprika peppers--in place of chili powder, omitted the salsa (didn't have any), and mixed the olive oil with some Masa Harina (ground hominy flour--the mix used for making corn tortillas and tamales) and added it in as a thickener.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      Great recipe! I used onion powder instead of minced and left out the salsa. Was perfect over Easy Enchiritos #95148. Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      I will not buy canned sauce again. This was too easy and made with things I have on hand ALL THE TIME!! Great recipe, and thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      Very good and easy. I will not buy canned sauce again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      Very nice recipe. Subbed beef broth for the water and when I make this with chicken will sub chicken broth. Very easy with things that I had on hand. Thank you for posting! :)shirley(:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      This turned out great, I've never made this sauce before, never made Enchiladas before neither :o) I did add some jalepeno puree to it for a bite and put in some cream cheese just because I like it. Had to thicken with some cornstarch also. I'm so glad to find this recipe, you can't get Enchilada Sauce where I live.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      Great recipe, I added crushed red pepper because I like it spicy and also added guajillo chile powder. I needed to double it too so there was enough sauce to go with the stuffed Poblano Peppers I made. Thanks for the recipe !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Very, very good. Quite mild next time I'll increase the cumin. Goodbye to the canned stuff! This is a keeper. Thank You Kimke-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      OH MY HECK! This was wonderful! I quadrupled the batch and used dried minced onion, garlic powder and 2 T. of sugar and this was the most awesome sauce I've ever had! My family hates enchiladas but they tried these and all 5 of my kids and my husband couldn't stop eating them! Yippee! I served them with Tex-Mex Rice #33161 from Dono Mondo (I tweaked that recipe too) and slathered the enchiladas in sour cream with a little shredded lettuce on top. Absoflippinlutely Awesome meal! Thanks Kimke! I will never purchase enchilada sauce again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      I absolutely love this recipe!! I will never use canned sauce again:) I did make a couple of changes, though. I cut the water to 1 cup, used a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce, and upped the salsa to 1/2 cup. I found it to be less watery. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      I didn't use any oil and it still worked out beautifully! Thanks so very much for this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      This recipe uses ingredients I always have. It is easy to assemble. I let it simmer for probably 30 or 40 minutes. I doubled all the ingredients except the water. This made enough sauce for a 13x9 pan, or 10-12 enchiladas. I served it over Veggie Enchiladas Veggie Enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      This is the best enchilada sauce I have ever tasted! So very very quick and easy to make too....... Thank you so much for sharing this recipe Kimke !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2005

      This was incredible! Fast, easy and good. The only enchilada sauce I will use for the kids from now on! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2005

      This is great!! I loved the fact that everything in it is natural!! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2005

      This recipe is GREAT!!!! I now can make my own whenever I need it.And I also dont have to buy the canned sauce with all those preservatives and added stuff... Thanks for this great recipe. Heidi L

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2005

      This was PERFECT. My first attempt to make enchilada sauce was a raving success! It was exactly what I wanted... spicy without being hot, but amenable to tampering for those who like more tongue-slapping. Now I'm looking for recipes to douse with this sauce. ;o) Thank you so much for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2005

      I enjoyed this recipe. I will definately use this recipe from now on. I have to admit I had to play with the ingredients a bit,because I felt it was missing something. I figured out why, I misread the recipe and added only 1 clove of garlic. All is well that ends well.Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      Being the type that prefers using homemade things over store bought, this recipe was great. It was made using ingredients I always have on hnd, it leaves open many options for slightly changing the flavors, it's easy to make, and tastes great!! What's not to like? I will donate my remaining (2) cans of enchilada sauce to the Food Bank!! This is it, for us. Thank you so much for posting this recipe, Kimke. jim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (627 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.0
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    62%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1704.3 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes