Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2008

      Awesome...I left out the oregano and used homemade tomatillo salsa in stead of regular salsa...excellent! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Very good sauce. I used it in #29884 Easy Enchiladias. We really liked the flavor and will never buy enchiladia sauce again. I would like to figure our a way to can this to have on hand when needed. Thank you so much for this delicious enchiladia sauce that made our meal heavenly....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I really liked this. It was nearly as easy as opening the can, but much more flexible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      I really enjoyed this! I love cumin so i used a bit extra. I only had 14 oz. cans of tomato sauce so I used a whole can of it (made enough for five enchiladas). I threw in some cilantro and jalapenos in too. I love spicy, therefore didn't even consider how much chile powder was in this, so if you are sensitive to heartburn or spicy food you may want to reduce that. Thank you, Kimke!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      Definatly better than any canned enchilada sauce I've ever had. And almost as easy as opening a can. I expected a little more flavor out of all those spices but my husband can stop raving. He says 5 stars, I say 3 so I split the difference. It would actually be 4 1/2 because he gets an extra vote for being Mr. TexMex but I wasn't given that option.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Very nice! I used a bit more garlic & onion than was called for, and I decided to use the entire 8-ounce can of tomato sauce I had on hand, and it still turned out very, very good. It was super easy to make too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Really good. No need to buy the cans now that I know I can make this with things I normally have on hand. I added 1/2 a chopped jalepeno pepper sans seeds in place of the salsa b/c I'm used to a smoother sauce and we doubled all but the garlic for a 9x13 pan of enchiladas. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      I love this sauce! For a 9x9 pan, however, it didn't have a whole lot of 'kick' for those who like spicy enchiladas. For me, it was absolutely perfect and fresh tasting! I'm definitely going to keep this around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      This was good, better than the canned. I added a can of cream of chicken soup because that's what we usually do with the canned enchilada sauce. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      I loved it!!! This has become our regular enchilada sauce. Only one important alteration is needed for us. Like others we found the sauce a little thin, but discovered if we used tomato paste instead of tomato sauce it came out just right. Thanks for this terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      Thank you for this fantastic recipe! I made chicken enchiladas last night and couldn't stand to use a sauce from a can.... It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      This was definitely different from the canned variety. Was a little bit runny, but overall made pretty good enchiladas. Not sure if it will keep me from using canned sauce next time, though. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      This is soooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      I used tomato paste (used tomato sauce the 1st time & it was as thin & tasteless as the Old El Paso sauce that I was sick of!). I used 1/4 tsp italian seasoning instead of the oregano & basil, and only used 1/8 tsp parsley. I doubled the cumin, used 3 tsp chili powder, used garlic salt, 1/4 tsp onion powder for the onions & 1 cup water. It was THICK (most important to me!) & had a nice strong flavor. I can't wait to use it in my mexican lasagna recipe tomorrow night. Hope it makes all the difference in its taste. Am looking forward it using it in my enchiladas as well :-).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

    • on February 07, 2007

      I have to admit that before I tried this recipe I had never understood the appeal of enchiladas. The few I tried always tasted like meat with "red glop" sauce. After tasting this sauce, I realize what I have been missing all these years. It is wonderful tasting and very simple to make too! I kept pretty true to the recipe except that: I used chicken broth instead of water, added more cumin and onion, and added 2 tsp of sugar. Awesome -- I literally licked the spoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

    • on January 03, 2007

      Fantastic sauce. I like to make my own sauces rather than buy bottled, so I'm glad I found this recipe. I used garlic powder, omitted the oil, and used tomato paste instead of sauce. Oh, and I added a pinch of sugar. Thanks, Kimke!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      Will definitely use this recipe again. I didn't have any tomato sauce on hand, but I did happen to have exactly 6 oz. of frozen leftover pizza sauce, so I used that instead. I didn't bother then with the basil or parsley, but added some dried cilantro.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (627 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.0
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    62%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1704.3 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites