Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2009

      I would make huge batches of this and freeze the extras for next time you need it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

    • on August 22, 2009

      Tastes great-better than prepared variety but the smell was fabulous! Highly recommend this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

    • on June 12, 2009

      This sauce was easy to make and tasted so much better than the canned sauce. The cans are sour to me. I will use this over and over again. The best thing is the ingredients are standard pantry items. Thanks Kimke this was really yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Super sauce - won't buy enchilada sauce again!! Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      I will not buy canned enchilada sauce. This tastes sooo good. Easy to put together, ya can't wait for the enchilidas to come out of the oven. CONGRATULATIONS!!! You have reached perfection. I just followed your directions and DH and I ate like royalty. Thanks for posting. Angelcook

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Great sauce. I made it on the weekend for a Mexican dinner party we hosted for our Dinner Club. It had a bit of a kick to it that everyone loved. I followed the recipe exactly, because it was the first time I ever made enchilada sauce. I was worried because it was thin, but after simmering it boiled down and was perfect. I have never tasted the canned variety and I know I won't even bother trying it now. Why would I when your recipe is this good and easy to make my own. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      mmmm it's simmering on the stovetop right now. I doubled the recipe so we can have a 13x9 pan of enchiladas tonight, used a 6 oz can of tomato sauce and a 10 oz can of Ro Tel diced tomatos and green chilies instead of the sauce and salsa, and only 2 cups of water. It looks thin but I'm hoping it will thicken like other reviewers said.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      PERFECT. Used it to make Veg. Enchiladas this weekend. I love finding good recipes for homemade sauces. Thanks Kimke.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      The flavor compared to jarred stuff is unbelievable. I'm going on a girls weekend and I'm making wet burritos with this recipe for enciladas sauce to add to it. I've tasted the enchiladas auce and I'm so excited how it's going to incorporate into my trecipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Yum! Yum! Yum! I've never had an enchilada until I made some tonight so I've never bought the canned sauce before. I'll never need to buy the canned sauce because this was delicous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This was quick and easy. Everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe. I saw one of the reviews that gave it a 2 star. Perhaps the spices used were not fresh enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      I really wanted to love this recipe. It wasn't at all what we wre looking for - made exactly as written. It just didn't please my taste (or that of my family's). Thanks for sharing, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Great flavored sauce that made my enchiladas extra special! Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Loved this! I used fresh parsley, basil, and oregano that I grow. I also was out of tomato sauce so I used a small can of tomato paste and 1 cup of water. I just threw the fresh herbs, dried spices in the blender with the tomato paste and water. I then cut the water called for in the recipe to 1 1/4 cups. After cooking this was thick and rich! Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      This was so delicious! I loved the rich flavor due to the basil and oregano. I have tried some of the other enchilada sauces posted on this site and my husband liked this one best! I actually only had a 14.5 oz can of tomato sauce, so I used it all and cute down the water by a cup. Made it thick and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      I love how the sauce looks, such a beautiful deep red. The flavor was good. It was easier than I thought it would be. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Awesome and easy! What more could you ask for?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I made this as is and used it with the Enchilada recipe another reviewer suggested (29884). It was pretty easy to make. The whole family liked it and some just could not stop eating. My 4 yr old kept asking for more! This will be a good recipe to quadruple and freeze for future use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (627 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.0
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    62%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1704.3 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes