107 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Talking about easy! This is just about the easiest dish I have ever made and tastes great!We had a Roasted chicken already cooked from Kroger,tore it apart,got rid of the bone. Cut it up in small squares. Made the sauce. Mixed the chicken in and I was done. I made it step by step followed to a t, other than adding a little more cheese! I like mine gooey and oozing with cheese.Put it all together, popped it in the oven,took a shower and it was done when I got out! This is a keeper for me! I am not a big Mexican food person but I really liked this! Thanks for the Vine like Jim Rome says!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mit That's Tim January 13, 2012

We really enjoyed this and all the ingredients were in the pantry which is great. I did get impatient for it to thicken so I threw in some masa after thirty minutes, it was perfect. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedHeadToToe August 06, 2011

Very good! Next time will double it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m s. April 13, 2011

GREAT! The only change I made was omitting the dried parsley and added more cumin. I also gave it a whirl in the food processor to make it smoother. Made to accompany V's Mexican Lasagna V's Mexican Lasagna . Just perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour February 24, 2011

My family loves this sauce!!! Never buying store bought enchilada sauce again. There only two things that I do different. I add a spoonful of flour to thicken it up while it's cooking and I put it through the blender before making enchiladas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twolittledudesmommy January 24, 2011

This is a very good enchilada sauce. I made as directed except for two things - I was short on tomato sauce by 2 ounces so I made up for it with 2 extra ounces of salsa. I also cut the water to one cup after reading other reviews that it was thin, and thought it was just right. I'm looking forward to using this on some spinach enchiladas and over frijoles refritos. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 January 04, 2011

Very good flavor. I had two complaints about this recipe. The first, was that it was too watery. Next time I will definitely take the advice of the reviewer who mentioned adding water gradually until you reach a desired consistency. My other complaint, also mentioned by other reviewers, is that this recipe doesn't make enough sauce for my personal needs. I like a decent amount of sauce with my enchiladas, and this was barely enough to coat every tortilla with not much left to pour over top. That being said, I really loved the taste of this! I added a teaspoon of crushed red pepper and it was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyonthespot December 31, 2010

Mmm, this is so good! This has such a nice smooth flavor without that canned sauce taste. This will now be the recipe I will always use from now on. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristy D. December 03, 2010

I make it triple batches and it freezes well so you always have some on hand! We love homemade enchiladas and were very tired of the canned choices. I stumbled upon this recipe about a year ago, thought I had lost it and here it is. This is the best enchilada sauce ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ma the meatloaf November 29, 2010

So good! Really glad I chose this recipe instead of other ones. Everyone in the family enjoyed it very much. I made exactly how it was printed, so I wouldn't change a thing. I did make 4 times as much (just because I had 2 15oz cans of sauce) and now I have extra in the freezer! Thanks for a great and easy enchilada sauce recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoleneC November 21, 2010
Enchilada Sauce