Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2011

      We really enjoyed this and all the ingredients were in the pantry which is great. I did get impatient for it to thicken so I threw in some masa after thirty minutes, it was perfect. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      Very good! Next time will double it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      GREAT! The only change I made was omitting the dried parsley and added more cumin. I also gave it a whirl in the food processor to make it smoother. Made to accompany V's Mexican Lasagna V's Mexican Lasagna . Just perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      My family loves this sauce!!! Never buying store bought enchilada sauce again. There only two things that I do different. I add a spoonful of flour to thicken it up while it's cooking and I put it through the blender before making enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      This is a very good enchilada sauce. I made as directed except for two things - I was short on tomato sauce by 2 ounces so I made up for it with 2 extra ounces of salsa. I also cut the water to one cup after reading other reviews that it was thin, and thought it was just right. I'm looking forward to using this on some spinach enchiladas and over frijoles refritos. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Very good flavor. I had two complaints about this recipe. The first, was that it was too watery. Next time I will definitely take the advice of the reviewer who mentioned adding water gradually until you reach a desired consistency. My other complaint, also mentioned by other reviewers, is that this recipe doesn't make enough sauce for my personal needs. I like a decent amount of sauce with my enchiladas, and this was barely enough to coat every tortilla with not much left to pour over top. That being said, I really loved the taste of this! I added a teaspoon of crushed red pepper and it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      Mmm, this is so good! This has such a nice smooth flavor without that canned sauce taste. This will now be the recipe I will always use from now on. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      I make it triple batches and it freezes well so you always have some on hand! We love homemade enchiladas and were very tired of the canned choices. I stumbled upon this recipe about a year ago, thought I had lost it and here it is. This is the best enchilada sauce ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      So good! Really glad I chose this recipe instead of other ones. Everyone in the family enjoyed it very much. I made exactly how it was printed, so I wouldn't change a thing. I did make 4 times as much (just because I had 2 15oz cans of sauce) and now I have extra in the freezer! Thanks for a great and easy enchilada sauce recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      Delicious! So glad to have this recipe, especially after reading the ingredients for the canned sauces. At least I know what's in my pan! I made this sauce last night and used it with Easy Cheesy Beef Enchiladas #106205. Wonderful! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      This recipe is fantastic! I did add a couple tablespoons of cornstarch to thicken it a little bit, the sauce is very thin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Very good! I left out the garlic for my husband and just added in a little garlic pepper instead. I also cut back slightly on the chili powder for my personal taste. Three adults and one kid enjoyed this... the other kid, thought this was too spicy (no surprise & no reflection on the recipe- I just made her enchiladas with no sauce). We enjoyed this sauce in one of our favorite enchilada recipes: Easy Cheesy Beef Enchiladas .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Wow! So easy that I can't believe I ever bought enchilada sauce all this time! My family loved it! I didn't have any minced onion so I used a bit of onion powder, though next time I'll use some fresh diced onion and sautee it with the garlic. I also added a smidge of agave to balance out the acidity of the tomato flavor. Two cans of black beans and then about 4 oz of shredded colby jack blended into the sauce, then spooned into tortillas, rolled up and placed in a glass casserole. Topped with the other 4 oz. of colby jack and 15 min. at 350 made a yummy, filling meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Have made this MANY times. I never purchase canned any more! I make it exactly as stated. Thank you! Very easy! Always have ingredients in the house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      The description is correct-- easy and delicious! So glad to get something without preservatives, but with plenty of good flavor. I reduced the water a little bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Excellent. Will make again. Used thinner salsa (not chunky) and it worked well. Also added adobo seasoning, about 1 tsp. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      This was just ok. Not worth the time to make it in my busy household. I've never tried a canned sauce so I can't compare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Taste great and easy too! Much better than canned stuff you buy at the store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      I would make huge batches of this and freeze the extras for next time you need it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (627 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.0
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    62%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1704.3 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites