Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2003

      This is very good. Very easy and made with pantry ingredients (I LOVE that!). The sauce is flavorful but very mild. I suggest adding just a touch of cayenne pepper or jalapenos or something if you like an enchilada sauce with a little bite. The mildness was perfect for us, though. My 4-year-old really enjoyed it. I doubled the recipe and I'm glad I did because it made a perfect amount for a 9X13 pan of enchiladas. If I hadn't doubled the recipe, it wouldn't have been enough. The sauce was a little thinner than canned so I added a little cornstarch to thicken it just a bit and then it was perfect. Thanks so much for teaching me how to make fresh enchilada sauce at home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      I made this to go with Kittencal's Ground Beef Enchilada Casserole and it was really good!! I liked that it was mild so my grandkids would eat it. I doubled it and froze 1/2 for another time. Thanks for posting..this one is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      I will never buy canned sauce again! This was so easy and delicious! I made it even easier by throwing it all in the blender and then heating it up. It was perfect! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      It was my first try making enchiladas! This was really easy and really yummy! Next time I'll double it because I dipped my tortilla's in it to soften before I filled them and by the time they were rolled and in the pan, there was just barely enough left to pour over the top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Awesome! This is by far the best enchilada sauce that I've had...homemade or canned. Great flavor! Easy to make! My husband agreed. I will definitely be using this as my main enchilada sauce. The only thing that I would recommend is adding water to your desired consistency.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      WONDERFUL! QUICK & DELICIOUS! I especially liked that it cooked up fresh in just minutes. (My freezer is so full of freeze-ahead meals and sauces I have to tie the door closed with a rope.) I doubled the recipe and I did make a few changes. I love the taste of good chilies so I added 1 teaspoon of Smoked Chipotle Powder and I also used 4 cups of frozen home-made Tomato Sauce so I cut the Water down to 1 cup For the doubled recipe. It came out thick and delicious, and it was just 'hot' enough to be interesting. For me canned 'salsa rojo'( Red Sauce)has gone the way of canned tomato sauce. I have a couple of cans of each in the pantry but they're strictly for emergencies. THANX

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2003

      I love it - quick, easy, very tasty & economical! I kicked it up a notch by adding a finely chopped jalapeno & decreased the amount of water to get a thicker sauce. Thanx Kimke!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2003

      SUPERB!!! I can not ever see myself buying a canned version of this anymore! My hubby and I are mexican food junkies, and this is top notch to us. My son even loved it! We were dipping everything in it! I had to make a second batch because the first was gone within 5 minutes! I followed the recipe to a T and had no problems. I was a little worried though when I added the water and it was really runny, but after I let it simmer, it was just as thick as the kind I normally buy in cans. THanks so much for a much needed recipe, and one that is super in taste!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      This sauce was so so good. I used it in the Wet Burritos recpe #33665. Truly fantastic. No more store bought for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2003

      Boy were you right on! This recipe is quick and easy ( my most favorite kind!) and the flavor was really fresh. Thanks so much for posting. This one is a definate keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2014

      This was the first time ever for me making my own Enchilada sauce and I definitely will again! This went down a storm! It was quick to make and made plenty for my enchilada recipe - I like things a little milder, but that's just personal preferene, so for me I'd take out a little chilli, but my partner loved the heat and coudn't stop raving about dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      We really enjoyed this sauce! There was a bit too much chilli powder for my taste, so I added some extra tomato sauce and some cream cheese to soften the spice. Next time I would use about half the chilli powder and probably still add the cream cheese as the creaminess was nice. We'll make this again, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      Yum! so much better than store-bought. As long as you have the time to simmer and thicken. Would make this every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      Delicious! I'll never use canned sauce again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

    • on May 09, 2013

      This was really good and went great with enchilada recipe 29884. I did make one change and used tomato paste (6 oz.) instead of sauce. Mixed with the 1 1/2 cups of water it was a nice thickness and needed no flour or other thickener. I wasn't making a large batch of enchiladas, so it was just about enough, but I can see how others using a 9x13 pan would need to double the recipe. Still, the fact that almost everything in it is stuff people usually have on hand is a great plus. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      We made the Enchilada sauce per the recipe and we all loved it. No more can sauce. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Great flavor & very mild (just the way I like it). Made as instructed. Turned out very thin (probably because I simmered with the lid on). I added 1 tablespoon of corn starch & let it sit to thicken up. Had just enough for 12 enchiladas. Flavor tasted so good I didn't even add additional spices to my meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      This is a really great sauce! A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      This really is a five minute recipe and not too spicy for little ones. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (627 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.0
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    62%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1704.3 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes