Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Enchilada Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Enchilada Casserole

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2012

      I made half a recipe for the two of us and still have lots leftover. I used left over roasted Mexican pork and caramelized onions but fresh corn tortillas. Loved how the flavors melded together. Served with a salad and very filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Good recipe. I substituted the corn and black beans with a bag of frozen SouthWestern veggie mix and it was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

    • on March 08, 2009

      Good recipe. I decided to use 6 skinless chicken thighs, since I figured they wouldn't dry out as much as chicken breasts. I cooked them over medium heat in a large skillet with 1 can of diced tomatoes with green chilies, a few cloves of minced garlic, and 1 cup of chicken broth. When they were done cooking, I tossed the bones, and shredded the meat, and used some of the leftover diced tomatoes and chiles to line the bottom of the cassarole dish. I assembled all ingredients per the receipe in an oval 10.5 x 8 inch cassorole dish (about 2.75 inches deep), and it was filled to with a 1/4 inch of the top. The only ingredient variation was the use of a "Mexican 5-cheese" blend of grated cheese instead of cheddar. After 50 minutes, I took it out of the oven since the cheese started to brown. As described in the review from "Pam-I-Am", the layers merged together as the corn tortillas turned to mush, making it more like a layerless cassarole. Tasty nevertheless. Maybe it was because I used white corn tortillas instead of thicker yellow corn tortillas?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      I used grilled chicken as I didn't have shredded. I made the rest as directed and it turned out delicious. Only problem was that my corn tortillas turned to mush. So the distinction of the layers was pretty much gone. If someone has a suggestion as to how to keep the tortillas from doing this next time, let me know. I would like to make this again, but will probably switch to flour tortillas until I can figure out the problem. Very tasty though. Pam

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      I added about a cup of salsa for some flavor and it turned out delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      I love this, my son does not like beans or corn, but he used tortilla chips to dip it up and ended up eating all that was on his plate. Thanks for a great recipe, I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

      Very easy to make, great leftover taste - if any left!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2005

      I knew this recipe as written would be too bland for us; I halved it easily, used leftover garlic-grilled chicken, and used all enchilada sauce (Mark H's) instead of 'cutting' it with tomato sauce. I left off the olives and sprinkled it with green onions. I kept this in the fridge overnight b/c I knew we had a busy night coming up. With some spice adjustments, this is a really good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      I liked this, will make it again, but I think it needs a bit more of a kick. I made as directed, except added a little bit of chopped jalapeno, and it still needed something more. Next time I'll add some chopped onion, more jalapeno, and maybe use 2 cans of enchilada sauce and no tomato sauce. I'd like to try it with jack cheese as well instead of cheddar, as another reviewer tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      This recipe was amazing. My daughter and I loved it. It seemed like a lot of cheese to use but it was perfect. I used all of the ingredients and my daughter suggested we add Jalepenos next time (which will be soon). Mine did not take an hour though. I think about 40 minutes and it was perfect. Thanks E.A.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      this is an easy but satisfying casserole i used jack cheese in it thanks for posting it dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Enchilada Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (355 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 947.8
     
    Calories from Fat 428
    45%
    Total Fat 47.6 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 25.9 g
    129%
    Cholesterol 171.1 mg
    57%
    Sodium 1703.2 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.8 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 14.2 g
    57%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    45%
    Protein 59.9 g
    119%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes