Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Empress Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Empress Chicken

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-30 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2007

      What a find!! My son absolutely loved this dish...he said that this was the best chicken dish that I had made, and I have made plenty. Only thing I changed was to use rice vinegar instead of white, and I used red chili peppers because those are what are available here. This is fantastic, thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      Awesome recipe!!! I was somewhat concerned about the amount(s) of cornstarch, based on previous recipes so I cut back here and there. The sauce mixture I used 1/4 cup cornstarch, for the chicken marinade I used 1 tbsp of cornstarch. Two gloves of garlic, I thought were sufficient, also, added 5 hot chili pods instead of jalapenos. As for vegetables, I boiled water and threw in some broccoli and carrots for one minute, and then shocked them in ice water (to retain crunch and colour). Threw the veggies along with approx 1 1/2 cup of scallions into a hot pan with 2 tbsp of peanut oil. Poured in the sauce mixture, at first it was very runny but after stirring a couple mins on medium high the sauce began to thicken. It was great!!!! Consistency of the sauce was great, not to starchy, so I will use the same measurements for cornstarch mentioned above for the next time. Served it with basmati rice (plain). Thanks for the posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      Very good, although I was tempted to rate it 4 stars because it got WAY too thick and was pretty hard to deal with BUT the end result was amazing. I used left over chicken and just threw it in the sauce in the end. I kinda cheated :). Thank you for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      We loved it!! The sauce was perfect, sweet, sour, salty & hot!! Though next time, the only thing I would change is the amount of cornstarch in the sauce. We found our sauce was too thick even with some water. Especially the next day when I had to reheat the leftovers. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      I never thought that I would be able to cook chinese food! This recipe made it so easy and so good! We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      Wow this was great! Next time I wil probably decrease the amount of sugar but other than that, YUMMY!!! The whole family thought it was take-out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      I was curious about this dish. My bigger half often gets it from the takeaway but being a vegetarian i have never tried it. I tried this version and replaced the chicken with Quorn not to my taste im afraid to chewy and gloopy but the bigger half loved it so I have to give it full marks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      This was sooo good. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      This is Dugans favorite type of Chinese. Something fried and coated in sauce. This was really very good. We used boneless skinless thighs cause we are dark meat lovers. I am going to make this with chunks of fried cod next time... that's MY favorite type of dish. BTW- a little off subject but I can't tell you how many times I have made your Wontons Ole since I first reviewed them so long ago. I just LOVE them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      Thank you for sharing this dish. The chinese restaurant around the corner from my first apartment served this and I never knew what it was called. I assumed it was a standard dish until I moved away. This brought back very fond memories... it's delicious and goes wonderful with basmati "sticky" rice. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Empress Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (488 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 752.0
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    13%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 264.4 mg
    88%
    Sodium 3748.0 mg
    156%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.2 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 44.5 g
    178%
    Protein 84.3 g
    168%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites