Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Empress Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Empress Chicken

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2014

      My son picked this recipe for me to make, and I'm so glad he did! It is delicious. There was a hint of heat, but not too much. A perfect treat for my weekend meal. Made for Culinary Quest Summer 2014. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      The Chinese restaurant is a two hour drive from my home and after making mostly stir fries this felt just like eating out. I left out the hot peppers,so DDs can enjoy it as well too (they prefered the chicken without the sauce). I wish zaar had more than five stars,because this one is getting ten. What a great way to end ZWT6. It was the last recipe for me and also the best one. Did I mention that DH was so quiet while eating it? He's really a talker,but when something this yummy comes up I don't hear a peep out of him.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Wow - what can I say that hasn't already been said before? This was absolutely delicious. Rather than 8 small hot pepper, I used 1 jalapeno and a handful of dried hot chili peppers. The heat was perfect. I also added 1 large diced red bell pepper. Other than that, I made this exactly as posted, using 1/4 cup cornstarch in the marinade and 1/2 cup to coat the chicken. Raves all around! Served this with jasmine rice. Made for ZWT6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2014

      My family really enjoyed this. Like a small number of other reviewers, I had a little trouble with the sauce thickening too fast, so I had to add water. But it was still quite good. I used soy sauce, because when I first look over the recipe, I didn't see tamari until after I started cooking (I saw soy sauce and went with that). But I think this would have made a much better presentation if I had used tamari as I think it would give the dish a much deeper color than that reflected in the photo I took. But I don't think I could do anything to improve on the wonderful taste of this dish. It's definitely a "keeper". Thanks, Charmie777. Made for 2014 Culinary Quest (China).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Delicious and relatively easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      Totally yummy! I had never had Empress Chicken but it is definitely a family favorite now! I made it as directed - almost. :) I'm a complete heat wimp and when I saw the amount of Jalapenos I knew I'd have to cut it back. I used only two but had hot pepper flakes ready in case I wanted a bit more zing. Not necessary for our tastes. Two were just perfect for us. Thanks Charmie for a meal that will be a regular here! Made on behalf of the Loonie Spoon Phoodies - ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      This looked liked a lot of work when I skimmed over the recipe but it was surprisingly very easy and oh so good!. Chinese food in NYC is really bad unless you go to a 5 star places. This chicken was 10 stars. The sauce was lovely and the chicken in the cornstarch didn't come out heavy or anything. I actually forgot to cut the chicken tenders into pieces but they were really good in strips. I would of normally served this over rice but we ate dim sum with this so I just served over fresh peppers with extra sauce. The only thing I did was replace the sugar with a smaller amount of honey and a little less soy but thats only because of my diet. Thanks Charmie for a new family recipe made for ZWT 6 by a fellow Looney Spoon :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This is a wonderful recipe that we will repeat often. I did use the lessor amount of cornstarch in the sauce and the result was a tangy, sweet and spicy, perfectly thickened sauce that coated the chicken just right. I added a diced green pepper and used 1 healthy tsp of Indian style extra hot pepper flakes because I had no hot peppers in the house. It was smokin' hot and we loved every fire breathing bite! I have to say this dish surpasses most of the Asian restaurants I have eaten at. I thought a light garnish of toasted sesame seeds might be good as well. Thanks so much for sharing a real keeper. Made for the Asian region of ZWT6 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      This is by far my favorite recipe I've tried off of Recipezaar. Everyone loves this!!! Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      This recipe was very yummy. We're spicy wimps though, so I cut back on the peppers quite a bit. Delicious sauce, thanks for sharing this! Made for ZWT 6 Queens of Quisine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

    • on January 12, 2010

      SOOO good! Hubby said it was one of the best meals I've ever cooked! With the exception of not having dark soy sauce and only using 2 jalapeno peppers, I did everything as the recipe said. There was plenty of sauce, and towards the end of the meal, it started to get a little thick, but that's an easy fix. I was just happy that I finally got a sauce to thicken like it's supposed to! Next time I may add some more veggies, but other than that (and the dark soy sauce that I have to try), no changes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      This is a very good chicken recipe. I followed the ingredients per recipe except I didn't add hot peppers due to personal preference. I added 4 veges to stir-fry stage: asparagus, water chestnuts, mushrooms and green peppers . There was plenty of sauce to cover veggies and chicken. This was made for for ZWT4 Add Veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Excellent recipe Charmie! Made as posted and it came out great. I put it in my repeat pile here at the house so I don't forget about it. If you like Chinese chicken, you will LOVE this one. Michelle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      DH and I couldn't decide between 3 stars and 4, so we decided to round up. I took two liberties with this dish, I omitted the step to breading the chicken in order to make this a bit healthier for us. I stir-fried the chicken pieces over high heat until they had a nice carmelized coat on them. Then, since I can't always find hot peppers at my grocery store, I decided to use one rounded tablespoon of red chile paste. I removed the chicken from the pan, whizzed the sauce ingredients in my blender then into the pan. In a few minutes it was thickening up and I tossed in the chicken and pulled it off the heat. Nice heat, nice flavor. Thanks Charmie777!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Finally, I can have empress chicken in Southern Indiana! This was amazing and we will be making it many times. My husband and I made this and it was easy and so delicious. We served it on vegetable fried rice. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Wow, this is so good! The sauce worked perfectly for me - I used just three peppers, but they were really hot so it was just right. This dish looks lovely as well. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      This was really good, although I had the same problem with the too-thick sauce that others had, even with the adjusted amounts of cornstarch. I added another cup of chicken broth and the sauce was still a lot thicker than I would have liked. No big deal, though, because the taste was fantastic! My whole family really enjoyed this dish. My daughter ate several of the fried chicken "nuggets" before I added them to the sauce and thought they were terrific as is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      Great! Love the sauce and was easy to make. I substituted crushed red pepper instead of hot peppers, and probably use a light soy sauce next time to make it less salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      This was wonderful. We had this 2 weeks ago and my son (6) VERY picky and DH are still asking me to make this again. I think this will be on the menu this week...lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Empress Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (488 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 752.0
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    13%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 264.4 mg
    88%
    Sodium 3748.0 mg
    156%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.2 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 44.5 g
    178%
    Protein 84.3 g
    168%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes