12 Reviews

LOVED THEM! Angela, these pastries are so good, I'm going to have to hide them from myself! Quick and easy to make as well. I rolled the dough to 1/8" thickness and got 32 cookies total. I made three different fillings: pineapple, orange and pumpkin, loved them all but I would say the orange was my favorite. I misread the directions and rolled them in the powdered sugar before baking, then I just dusted them afterwards to make them pretty. Edited to say that OF THE 350 RECIPES I REVIEWED IN 2008, THIS HAS GONE INTO MY TOP 20 FAVORITES COOKBOOK.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 06, 2009

very easy-- I had to leave mine in for about 15 minutes but I also made pretty large empanadas. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoMoTaps July 08, 2008

These things are addicting! Just delicious and really very easy to make. I loved the filling! Will make these again, especially for holidays. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 21, 2008

Made & reviewed dor ZWT 4 ~ Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles! Wow, these are SO good! DH was especially impressed with these & they are simple to make too ;) Thanks Angela for another super recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia June 17, 2008

I made these delicious little morsels for dessert at a Mexican theme dinner with friends...everyone loved them...flaky, delightful and reminiscent of my times spent in Mexico.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan LeBoutillier June 02, 2008

Really good. Not quite the same as what you would get at a Mexican bakery but since they are few and far between ... this will absolutely do!! If you can't find Pineapple preserves use Smuckers Pineapple Ice Cream topping ... it's a little watery but will do in a pinch. I made mine with both and couldn't taste the difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Batmansgirl80 February 24, 2008

I whipped these up because they were recommended from a pineapple preserves recipe here on Recipezaar. They were very yummy and quick to make. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zombie Order January 28, 2008

These were so good and very easy to make. The dough with the cream cheese made the emapadas taste extra special. Once again this as another great hit at home. When I woke up in the morning they were almost gone. I could not find pineapple jam but I did find a good fast and simple recipe for pineapple reserves posted on here! Award Winning Pineapple Preserves Dont forget to drain the preserves well before using.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spyce June 14, 2007

this was the first time i have made empanadas and these were good and very easy i could not find pineapple perserves so i used pineapple apricot Tshank you for th e rec..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimmaboo May 30, 2007

Fabulous Empananda recipe! I usually make pumpkin empanadas but I thought I'd give these a try. I am so glad I did! I could not find pineapple preserves so I used Award Winning Pineapple Preserves. I used a glass to cut the circles and ended up with 12 small empanadas- Next time I will double the recipe so there will be some for someone else to eat;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog May 04, 2007
Empanadas De Pina (Pineapple)