Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Empanadas (Beef Turnovers) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Empanadas (Beef Turnovers)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2006

      I have to admit that I made these using my own empanada dough#151502, but made the filling pretty much as stated only using leftover beef that I keep in my freezer. The filling from this is excellent but there are a lot of different flavors going on in this, so you would have to have a palette for these kinds of flavors. I only used a handful of raisins as I was not certain if my family would go for them in the empanadas, I did add in the egg which I have never used before in empanada filling, I have to say that these were different but very good. I will make the filling again but omit the raisins totally. Thanks fora great recipe Cheryl!...Kitten

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      Wow! Great flavor! I'm from Tampa and have had various types of empanadas. This one really taste wonderful. I used packaged empanada dough from the freezer (I'm not much on spending lots of time in the kitchen). This was quick and delicious! I'm thrilled that I can make an empanada that comes out great! Thank you McMysterShopper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Wow!! The filling was full of flavor. I did leave out the raisins, don't really like them. I used another dough recipe. While I was assembling my empanadas, my hubby kept sneaking into the kitchen and eating the filling...My husband and I love it, we can't stop eating them! Thank you for the yummy recipe ^^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2006

      These are great Cheryl! I've never made empanadas before and was surprised at how easy it is. Followed your recipe for the ingredients, however because I was using an inexpensive (CHEAP) cut of meat, I cooked it in the crockpot with a small can of salsa verde. Added the diced potatoes 1 hour before it was finished, and then added the olives and red peppers just before filling the pockets. It was so good that I saved some for appetizers for our guest (from Mexico) tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      This filling was wonderful. I made it with dough #74211 which worked wonderfully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      These were excellent! I left out the raisins and olives because we don't really like them. I also used an orange pepper because I had that on hand, but no red pepper. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      Great recipe. I loved the filling. I omited the raisins and added a diced boiled carrot instead. Im glad I had some filling left because it is really yummy. I can't comment on the though because I used prepackaged empanada dough to save time.I will try it next time. =0)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Absolutely fantastic! The whole family just loved these. I did have to use a different recipe for the dough as I did not have lard or shortening on hand (I used #151502) so I can't comment on the dough, but the filling was out of this world! Luckily I had some left over and I will use it in some sandwich wraps during the week! I also omitted the raisins as I do not care for them but did everything else exactly as the recipe. YUMMY! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      Great empanadas. Used ground beef and DH only left me one green olive. Turned out great and easy to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      Wow! I have been looking for this dough for a long time, I can't believe how easy it is to make. <br/><br/>Thank you so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Empanadas (Beef Turnovers)

    Serving Size: 1 (976 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 342.5
     
    Calories from Fat 199
    58%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 49.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 442.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    boneless beef shoulder

    Spanish olives

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes