Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Empanadas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Empanadas

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2002

      Absolutely delicious, Di! I made these a day ahead of time, and made 12 smaller ones because just the two of us using them for snacks. Refrigerated them, then cooked just 4 today (in the oven) and froze the rest for later. Even just the 4 were very filling, but I can't wait to have the rest! Thanks for a great recipe! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

    • on May 17, 2013

      Deciding at 5pm to make empanadas for dinner was not the most well-thought-out choice, but I'm glad I did! So dinner wasn't until 8pm... Okay, my variations: not fresh tomatoes, but a 15-oz can of diced tomatoes. Misread the recipe & used 3 Tbsp (instead of 3 tsp) of shortening. Probably overhandled dough, because it came out a bit tough. Filling was fabulous (95% lean ground pork). Six 6" rounds of dough, but enough filling for 7 empanadas. Also, calories shown were for 1 of 4 empanadas, when the recipe makes 6. Had to re-do the math on that. Thank you! I've always wanted to try making empanadas, and I call this a successful first try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      my daughter told me about empanadas, this pastry recipe is so easy to make, with ingredients that I always have on hand. It was easy to roll out, made 6 large empanadas . I did moisten the edges of the pastry to get them to seal properly. I made a different filling for mine using leftover roast beef, mushrooms, onions,black olives and barbeque sauce, so I can't comment on that part.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Very disappointing. They are edible but taste like Manwich sloppy joes. I have no choice but to serve them with my mexican themed brunch tomorrow, but will not make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I only used the dough from this recipe and it was great to work with. Next time I will try the filling. Thanks for an easy dough recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      i use store bought biscuits instead of the dough. these are amazing!!! my hubby craves these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      This is truly a keeper. Wow my DH is from PR and he loved this sais it remends him of home. Thank you...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      We loved the seasonings in the filling of this recipe. I was unable to finish the recipe as directed due to running out of time. It was one of those days :) I had made the filling & dough and was letting them chill before rolling & stuffing. When I finally got back to the kitchen in a rush, I simply poured the filling into a casserole dish, rolled out the dough to top it, and baked. It ended up like a pot pie & the flavors were wonderful. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Empanadas

    Serving Size: 1 (352 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1117.0
     
    Calories from Fat 611
    54%
    Total Fat 67.9 g
    104%
    Saturated Fat 23.9 g
    119%
    Cholesterol 146.4 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1271.3 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 84.2 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    25%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 41.1 g
    82%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites