15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the recipe I was looking for.The dough is nice and crispy, buttery and has a great texture and flavor. I used light Philadelphia cream cheese and 1/4 tsp. salt. I had 15 4-inch small empanadas filled with sauted mixture of onion,zucchini,red bell pepper,carrot,bacon and cheese. This dough would be great for chicken pot pie or apple pie as well. Next time I will double the recipe. Thank you

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hanka January 11, 2008

I doubled the recipe and made 16 empanadas about six-inches in size. Very nice, flaky dough. I also used light cream cheese. I did sprinkle in some salt since I was using unsalted butter, but it could have used a little more. My bake time was closer to 30-40 minutes. The dough seemed too sticky before refrigeration so I added some flour but given how hard it was by the next day, I probably didn't need to.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dandel May 11, 2008

this recipe was ok...but theres no way that you get 30 empanadas out of this..I got 4 tiny tiny ones they were so small you could barley taste the feeling inside...If you want to make 30 you would have to time this recipe by 6

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
New2Cookin #2 August 16, 2007

Unfortunately I was not a big fan of this dough. It was lovely and flaky however it was dripping with butter and the dough consistency was a bit odd. I tried adding a bit more flour but it didn't really help. The taste was ok, but way too buttery for my liking

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaN July 21, 2013

I used whole wheat flour instead of the regular flour. Next time, I will add 1/2 tspn of salt to the recipe. And, I also doubled the recipe. So, this made nine 5" empanadas and six 4" empanadas. I probably could've made another four 4" empanadas with the leftover dough, but I didn't have time to roll these out.<br/><br/>The dough turned out well, nice and crisp flaky. I didn't remember the baking instructions as I did this from memory and my memory said 400 F for 30 min. It would've been better at 375 F for 20 min.<br/><br/>Oh, I refrigerated the dough overnight, but I guess I have a really cold frig as leaving it out for 30 min. wasn't enough, rather I had to leave it out several hours for it to be okay for me to roll out the dough. I floured the surface and my rolling pin, which made it easier to roll out as it wasn't sticking.<br/><br/>I had 4 sizes of empanada makers (6", 5", 4", 3.5") that as I bought as a kit at Bed, Bath & Beyond. Used the 5" and 4", which are good sizes, but if you want more appetizer empanadas, then use the 3.5", which I will be this weekend. If you used this size, maybe you could get 25-30 empanadas from this doubling the recipe. I don't know how you would get that many with the recipe just as is.<br/><br/>The filling I used for the first time was a curried pork dish I made in the crockpot 2 days ago. I will be making another mixture of pineapple, ham & cheese; and one of plantains & guava paste for this weekend.<br/><br/>This is a wonderful dough recipe for empanadas, especially for first timers. Very easy.<br/><br/>Ok, I've now made this recipe twice. I added the salt, plus onion powder, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper. This made it nice & spicy. Filled it with pineapple, sausage, and Mexican cheese (queso). Tripled the recipe, to make 5 dozen 3.5" empanadas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dvilla228 April 02, 2013

a wonderful recipe, best for smaller empanada's :) i have used a similar dough for my pecan tassi's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hilty January 29, 2012

My wife and her sons from Panama and one of my wifes sons girlfriend from Mexico said that this recipe was the best they ever had. Iwould have to agree. They want me to make them all the time.
I use ready made Pie and cake fillings in them. Sooooo goooood !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imagenes October 09, 2010

this recipe just didnt work for me. i did make it in a double batch since all the other reviews were so good. the taste is good but it really doesnt hold up well in the oven, the cooking temp needs to be raised, and more flour needs to be added. so ive been tweaking it and hopefully will get the right combo of everything soon. sorry i had to give 1 star

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaleen1 October 06, 2010

This is a great dough that is very easy to make. The empanadas turned out so flaky and delicious. My husband, who LOVES meat pies and empanadas, absolutely loved this and gave it five stars. I made 3/4 of the recipe with a meat filling and 1/4 of the recipe with a bean mixture. I will definately be making this over and over again at my husband's request!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oliver & Fischer's Mommy September 14, 2010

I used a Mexican beef filling to make up my empanadas. They were delicious and the dough was just the right texture and flakiness. Just what I was looking for! My friends really enjoyed them and so did I!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beep Beep Momma's Taxi June 30, 2010
Empanada Dough