Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Empanada Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Empanada Dough

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2010

      Excellent! I made this dough for my own samosa filling and it was quick, easy, and tasty. I made it in the food processor by processing the flour, salt, and butter and then adding the ice water and egg mixture. The dough worked perfecly, and I could roll it out many times with no trouble. This will be used again and again. Thanks for such a great and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      This was quick and easy...I made it for a dinner party last night and they got rave reviews. I wasn't sure how thin to roll them out before stuffing, so mine might have a bit on the doughy side...but they were still loved by all. I made them using Weeknight Ground Beef Empanadas....and served Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce as a topping. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      I whipped up this dough easily enough. It seemed a bit salty but fried up perfectly! A little tip for those little left over scraps-my kids favorite part was the dough so I fried them up and let them munch on the crispy scraps. I filled it with spicy chicken, sauteed mushrooms-onion-garlic, shredded cheese and chunks of steamed potato. MMMmmm

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      DELICIOUS! I used Earth Balance vegetable shortening instead of butter and egg whites instead of whole egg. It turned out perfectly - crispy, flaky and flavorful - and the dough was so easy to handle. I stuffed it with curried chicken. I'll definitely use this recipe again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      I loved it. I made the dough and it came out perfect. I made my own filling of Spinach and Artichoke hearts and it came out so good. I had everyone in my dinner party asking for my recipe. Had to tell them it was not mine. I will be adding this to my book. Thanks for such a great recipe....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2014

      We have tried three different empanada recipes. We're still on the hunt for a filling we like, but we have landed on a winning dough recipe. Thank you, Kittencal! It even tastes good raw ... not that I would know anything about eating raw dough. ;)<br/><br/>We baked some of our empanadas in the oven and fried the rest. The fried tasted much more authentic, and sooo delicious. 400 degrees in canola oil worked for us. We just fried them until they reached a nice color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      After using this recipe several times with great success, for empanadas, 1 batch got interrupted at the dough stage. Next day, I experimented. Rolled thin, cut into ribbons and dropped into salted water or broth, this make perfectly acceptable noodles or "dumplings" This from a home-made chicken and dumplings fan. Another great Kittencal recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      I tried this recipe last nite and absolutely loved it. I'm usually not that good making doughs or breads but this was easy and delicious. I filled them w beef but this dough would be great w anything you like, next time I'll try a green chili chicken 'n cheese filling. Plus I could totally see how this dough would work for samosas like a previous reviewer mentioned. Thanks for the great recipe and I'll be passing it on to my friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      Very workable & fast - put ours in the freezer for 30 minutes 7 used 1/2 while the second half chilled more. keeper! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Nice dough and easy put together. I filled it with mixture of chicken,onion,carrots and zucchini. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      This is a very good recipe. My husband liked it very much. I filled it with a mixture of chicken, tomato and cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Empanada Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 191.1
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    46%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 43.0 mg
    14%
    Sodium 437.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes