11 Reviews

The only thing I changed was to use less cumin as it's a spice we like a bit less. The seasonings are perfect. It was very easy to do. I had mine with monterey jack cheese and mustard. Thanks Lori Mama :) Made for Photo tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 09, 2011

This is a really good sloppy joe recipe. I do like to add chopped mushrooms to this........I saw that in the Joy of Cooking joe recipe and always have added it ever since.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa November 08, 2010

A great recipe that took no time to make but still packed a punch in flavor. Since I don't eat meat, DS was here to give it the nod that yes, this didn't need any other additions/deletions. An easy meal for work-nights and the perfect sloppyjoe recipe Lori. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB November 18, 2009

The sequel: Joe Went Sloppy in Mexico! Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng September 15, 2009

We really enjoyed these sloppy joes, I did use a little more tomato paste and a little less water, also cut the amt of chili powder in half after reading others reviews. We thought they were a whole lot better the can stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser March 22, 2009

These are very good. It does have a distinctive chili flavor, but that's not a bad thing. I like chili! I usually serve French fries with sloppy joes, but I decided to make "Simple Garlic Mashed Potatoes" to be different.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 December 03, 2008

This was a great sloppy joe. My family loved this. They wanted me to scallop potatoe's to go with this. I will make this again. I tagged in Everyday is a Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom November 19, 2008

good sloppy joe. I liked it since I didn't have to use ketchup. Will certainly make again. tagged in holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby November 07, 2008

Nice sloppy joes which I had for lunch and DS had for an early dinner before his basketball. We both enjoyed them but found them to be different than most sloppy joes in that they kinda tasted like chili. Thanks for sharing. Made for Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 September 27, 2008

GREAT SLOPPY JOES, these! I did add another clove of garlic but mine weren't very big! Used the leanest of meat for this recipe & made them with homemade whole wheat buns! Well worth making again! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Every Day Is a Holiday cooking game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike September 01, 2008
Emily's Sloppy Joes