Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Emeril's Stewed Black-Eyed Peas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Emeril's Stewed Black-Eyed Peas

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2004

      Absolutely delicious! Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      I can never find tasso so substitued smoked sausage. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly and it turned out excellent. This dish has a ton of flavor and is really simple to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      I used part beef and part chicken stock. Also, we don't eat pork, but used organic smoked turkey bacon from Earthfare and these peas tasted heavenly! You have to try this one. YUM!! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      I made this for New Years Day. The flavors are perfect. It was the crowd the favorite. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Delicious! My market didn't have tasso, so I just used applewood smoked ham. I also had an excellent ham hock. My only problem was I had a surplus of meat, as my hock had a lot of good meat on it. No worries, I just cooked up some split pea soup, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      Delicious! I've made this for New Year's Day for several years now. I can't find tasso so I just use ham. The seasoning is great in this dish. We usually serve it with cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Got to have black-eyed peas for luck on New Year's Day. This is a delicious recipe, Di!! Left out the cayenne for those non-spicy diners. Made for the Hail to the Chefs-Food Network Challenge in Cooking Photos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I have been on a quest for 20+years looking for a good black eyed pea recipe and this is it! Used the ham hocks and tasso, omitted the salt. Perfect, you don't need to add any seasonings at the table with this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      This is one of our standard, go-to black-eyed pea recipes. We add twice as much ham hock and skip the sausage, and that works great for us. It's a hit with guests and is fabulous with cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This is a really great recipe. I've been making this for New Year's day about 4 years. I always use 1 pound of leftover Christmas ham in place of the meat in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      My family really enjoyed this receipe, I really don't like the meat from the ham hock, so I just added extra ham/tasso which worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      As made by this recipe, I thought it was a little salty. Other than that, I would say this was amazing. Super delicious and loved by everyone in my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Delicious way to insure good luck on New Year's Day. We like our peas fairly soft so after the first hour I covered the pot and simmered them another 30 minutes. I had some of Mean Chef's Pulled Pork #26257 in the freezer so I used that instead of the tasso. We had this with cornbread on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      This was great tasting, very yummmmy!!!! I love my peas, and this was just what I was looking for! Thanks DiB's....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Emeril's Stewed Black-Eyed Peas

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.0
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    34%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 9.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 1073.9 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham hocks

    tasso

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites