11 Reviews

OMG! Normally I do not cook or eat cream sauces, but I wanted to experience this. This was a quintessinal New Orleans dish, spicy and rich. In Weight Watchers' parlance, I would organize my entire week around this dish, it was that good! It was very spicy, even though the cream offset it somewhat, but I would expect that from an Emeril recipe, wouldn't you? I used Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning, so I would omit the stand-alone salt when I make this again. This is a very filling dish, so do not oversize portions when serving. Made for Summer Photo Tag.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL July 02, 2011

First off for the 2 of us I cut the recipe in half, & then I used just 1 1/2 teaspoons of the creole seasoning & 1 tablespoon of the jalapeno, & that was enough heat for us (well, at least for me it was)! Still we both enjoyed this very satisfying pasta dish! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 17, 2011

Not too difficult, very tasty, but also very spicy! Next time I would halve the amount of Creole spice, and it would be perfect. I used Emeril's recipe for Creole spice if you want to google it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thellesto March 21, 2010

This recipe is straight from Emeril's food network web site and also can be found in his New New Orleans cookbook.This is truly one of the best pasta,tomato and shrimp dishes I have ever had hands down, whether it be in a restaurant or at home. It is easy to make and the sauce can be made ahead as well as any type of pasta you want to have. I used ZITI pasta.You can us your favorite pasta for this dish and it will come out great.I have a large garden, I used Roma canned tomatoes chopped up and also remember to reserve the juice from the canned Roma's.I used dehydrated hot peppers instead of the jalapeno pepper also from the garden.Try this and you will find it's easy to make and have excellent taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Timothy H. March 18, 2014

Sinfully delicious! DH and I loved this recipe last night for dinner. It was not too spicy for us. We thought it was perfect. Leftovers reheated well for lunch today. Going into my keeper file for special occasions. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny September 07, 2013

OMG - this was incredibly delicious! I made this exactly as posted, and it was actually quite easy to put together, and really does not take that long. Clearly, this is not for the diet-conscious, but it is a wonderful treat and something to look forward to. I will definitely be making this again! Made by a Tasty Tester for ZWT9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! September 03, 2013

This is super delicious! I toned down the heat using much less jalepeno, and subbing some fontina for some of the pepper jack, but it still had a nice underlying spiceyness. I used shells which were great for catching the sauce, and half and half in place of the heavy cream. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing Sofie! Made for ZWT 9 US - Cajun/ Creole by one of the Appliance Killers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet July 20, 2013

This is fantastic and NOT too many steps because it is absolutely worth it! I added plenty of jalapenos because we just love them. Will be making this for friends. Thanks, sofie-a-toast! Made for ZWT9 for team Gourmet Goddesses.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees July 15, 2013

Ooh, fabulous, we loved this!!! The only thing I didnt do was add the Monterey Jack. Spicy, yes, but I thought that really made the dish. This is something I'll be making again!!! Thank you sofie-a-toast, lovely recipe, enjoyed for ZWT9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth July 15, 2013

I totally enjoyed this! Halved the recipe and made pretty much as directed. I left the tails on the shrimp - I just like the looks of that on my plate, lol. I had to use dried basil as no fresh on hand. Had a nice 'kick' to it and will be making this again. Thanks sofie-a-toast for a nice keeper. Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme December 18, 2011
Emeril's Shrimp and Pasta in a Spicy Tomato-Chili Cream Sauce