11 Reviews

I also used 2 cans of cresent rolls. Instead of pie filling, I used seedless strawberry jam. I rolled out the dough on a piece of waxed paper & then rolled it onto the pan, much easier to handle that way. The seams gave way slightly when baked but it still looked good & tasted great! Everyone wanted the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OsageEko February 06, 2008

I'm an accomplished cook and baker and tried this recipe because it was quick. It was a fail. I love Emeril, but this recipe simply doesn't work. I followed the suggestion of two cans of rolls. I'm going to try again, but making it the original way as a yeast bread. Sorry Emeril!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
attinson63 February 28, 2011

The quickest way to make a king cake is using ready-to-bake cinnamon rolls. you can check out that recipe here: http://www.ehow.com/how_2184139_mardi-gras-king-cakes-minutes.html

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bridget.ziegler February 04, 2008

My family loves this!! I gave 4 stars only because I do have to alter the recipe. I use 2 cans of the crescent rolls and form two half circles than pinch them together before baking. This way you don't try to over roll the dough and make it hard to work with. Great taste and a lot quicker than other king cake recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gaylasikes October 02, 2007

I made this omigtting the pie and cream cheese filling. It still came out great. It is only good for a day or too, but ends up getting soggy. For the frosting, you could also warm up storebought and drizzle that over the top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kel62286 March 08, 2007

I tried to make this twice. I agree with the previous review, the dough was a mess. I had too much filling the first time & thought that that was the problem. I tried again & cut the filling in half. It was just too hard to work with & to move. The taste was okay, not flaky or light, which I was hoping for. As quick & easy as it was, I don't think I'll be trying this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat February 26, 2007

I followed the recipe and what a joke that was to try to roll the pastry with all the cream cheese and pie filling. The filling would be enough for 5 cakes! The dough ripped and the filling was all over the baking sheet and my oven. It tasted very good but it looked awful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire in Hunt Valley February 20, 2007

I had to take away one star just for how difficult it is to work with the crescent roll dough. No amount to pressing or pinching would hold it together. Then on top of that- it stuck to the countertop! I would caution not to use the entire amount of butter/cinnamon, pie filing or cream cheese/psugar mixtures as mine was very wet and too heavy for dough as I transported it. But overall, it baked up easily and tastes really lovely warm or cold...like a combination of a croissant and a cream cheese pastry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend February 14, 2007

This was so easy and tasty. My kids loved it. I had enough filling, icing and sugar leftover to make another cake. You just need another can of crescent rolls.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lavan March 01, 2006

This receipe was very easy & good!!! I wish I would of made two because it went so fast at the superbowl party. I almost didnt try it because of the negative reviews but IM GLAD I DID

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChantelQ February 04, 2013
Emeril's Quick King Cake