103 Reviews

I have been making Essence of Emeril for years. I use 1 tablespoon of kosher salt instead of 1/4 cup of table salt and it is just perfect. All the other flavors season the food so well that you do not miss the salt at all. I use it to blacken catfish and as a dry rub for roasted baby back ribs (awesome)....everything....it is so good that I am often making new batches. MUCH cheaper than buying, that's for sure!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
masscjs February 17, 2009

Nice and fresh! I used a bit less of the two peppers and I agree, it would be just as good without all of the salt. Something to think about, at least to cut it back, if not out completely.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha December 29, 2006

Used this as an ingredient in another recipe. I made a 1/2 recipe as I don't need the full amount. I skipped the onion powder as I didn't have any and wasn't making a special trip to the store. It was a bit salty so maybe less next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky October 21, 2013

WOW! I just had the best cajun salmon using this spice mixture! It is really good. The only thing I put on the salmon besides this was some extra garlic powder, lemon and a little olive oil and it was fabulous! Thank you for posting this- it's a keeper. Made for Pick a Chef Spring 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night March 29, 2009

This spice is Wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poof May 28, 2007

I use Emeril Lagasse's Essence alot, so stumbling across this recipe is very much appreciated. Rod Smith's review was very helpful too--I was surprised to see how much salt goes into this! From now on, I will make my own, use Hungarian paprika, and cut back on the salt--thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers May 20, 2007

I love this receipe for essense Emeril style. I use it when making several dishes. I also make my own taco seasoning and creole seasoning. These spices are staple as far as my spice rack of 60 spices and have their own jars. The seasonings seem fresher and do not contain preservatives. Thank you for allowing the receipes to be used by us lay people.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yvonnee1950 April 18, 2016

Very versatile spice. Originally I reviewed #14372 but it was duplicated to this recipe. I found this one impossible to scale to 1/4 cup and found some ingredients out of whack to the original. I found one posted directly from Emeril's cookbook and it perfectly matches the version I use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 August 19, 2013

On 4/1/13 I was making Breakfast Pork Hash by Sandi (From CA),and didn't have any Essence.I did a quick search and found this recipe and decided to try it.Now I've never tried the original Essence,so I can't really compare it. But it added a very good taste to the hash.Thanks for posting a recipe that will find its way into many of my recipes. " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � April 02, 2013

Good stuff...so good I reposted on our site rouxed.com. Thanks simmees!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JonnyHee January 10, 2013
Emeril's Essence