Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Emeril's Essence Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Emeril's Essence

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2009

      I have been making Essence of Emeril for years. I use 1 tablespoon of kosher salt instead of 1/4 cup of table salt and it is just perfect. All the other flavors season the food so well that you do not miss the salt at all. I use it to blacken catfish and as a dry rub for roasted baby back ribs (awesome)....everything....it is so good that I am often making new batches. MUCH cheaper than buying, that's for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      Nice and fresh! I used a bit less of the two peppers and I agree, it would be just as good without all of the salt. Something to think about, at least to cut it back, if not out completely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      WOW! I just had the best cajun salmon using this spice mixture! It is really good. The only thing I put on the salmon besides this was some extra garlic powder, lemon and a little olive oil and it was fabulous! Thank you for posting this- it's a keeper. Made for Pick a Chef Spring 2009.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      This spice is Wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      I use Emeril Lagasse's Essence alot, so stumbling across this recipe is very much appreciated. Rod Smith's review was very helpful too--I was surprised to see how much salt goes into this! From now on, I will make my own, use Hungarian paprika, and cut back on the salt--thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      Used this as an ingredient in another recipe. I made a 1/2 recipe as I don't need the full amount. I skipped the onion powder as I didn't have any and wasn't making a special trip to the store. It was a bit salty so maybe less next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      Very versatile spice. Originally I reviewed #14372 but it was duplicated to this recipe. I found this one impossible to scale to 1/4 cup and found some ingredients out of whack to the original. I found one posted directly from Emeril's cookbook and it perfectly matches the version I use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      On 4/1/13 I was making Breakfast Pork Hash by Sandi (From CA),and didn't have any Essence.I did a quick search and found this recipe and decided to try it.Now I've never tried the original Essence,so I can't really compare it. But it added a very good taste to the hash.Thanks for posting a recipe that will find its way into many of my recipes. " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      Good stuff...so good I reposted on our site rouxed.com. Thanks simmees!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      I just bought Emeril's for a recipe that required it. I paid $4.39 at Vons for 2.8 oz!!!!. It just makes to make this at home, for a lot of less. This recipe amount is huge. I will cut it down in half at least. I will let you know if it tastes the same. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      I can't judge how good this is against the original as we don't have it in Australia, but I can tell you that this mix contributed to the best chilli con carne ever! Thanks very much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

    • on January 30, 2010

      This is awesome stuff, been making it myself for ages. I keep old spice jars, wash them on and stick my own label on :) always keep a bottle of this handy, have used it for everything from shrimp to chicken fried steak yummmmmmmm!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      I bought Emeril’s Essence from the grocery store that sat in my pantry and lost its flavor… so I made my own… dumped the old stuff out and filled the bottle up with the new Emeril’s Essence spices… fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      BAM good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Used this last night in Crab Fettuccine#108748 and it is a great seasoning to have and be able to make so quickly...no need to go and buy any. Thank you posting. I will be using this in other dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      It's great! Not a whole lot to review! Try with and without salt to decrease that salt in take - yummy either way. Thanks for posting so I can keep this amalgamated with the rest of my stuff on zaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      Great, flavorful seasoning mix. I made a half-recipe, which still makes a lot. I'll be using this to season all kinds of things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Emeril ain't fooling with this one! It's excellent on just about anything from soup to nuts! Really!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      A good seasoning blend. I've never tasted the stuff you actually buy (I made this instead to save money), but this is good. We enjoy it on chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Emeril's Essence

    Serving Size: 1 (311 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.1
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    18%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 18651.1 mg
    777%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 21.1 g
    84%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites