Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Emeril's Creamed Spinach Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Emeril's Creamed Spinach

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2002

      Mysterygirl- Thansk for sharing. How can you go wrong with heavy cream, garlic and butter?!? Did have to really drain the spinach so as not to dilute the heavenly base.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Serves 8. Well, this is a little embarrassing, but it's said that honesty is the best policy. I made said 8 servings and single-handedly ate them all by myself in one sitting. Nap time. Trouble is, I have the makings for another serving of 8 as soon as I wake up. Boy, this is good. I thought about adding a few sprinkles of crushed red pepper flakes, but I think I'll appreciate it just as it is for at least a few more 8-serving-sized helpings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This is delicious! My sons ate a little even though it is SPINACH!! It is not something that you want to make ahead of time, as it really just needs to be mixed while piping hot and baked only for the cheese on top to get golden brown. I used 2 boxes of frozen spinach, with the moisture squeezed out, and it was wonderful. It is good leftover with tortilla chips too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      I finally found it! Mom and I have been trying a new Creamed Spinach recipe every year and always been disappointed. (Really, when Boston Market is better than homemade, that's sad sad sad!) This is finally it: the Holy Grail of Creamed Spinach recipes! Only suggestion I have is to find WHITE sharp cheddar, 'cause the yellowy orange stuff looked a little weird with the green spinach. Tasted wonderful, though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      yum, yum yum, big hit with the DH and myself, will be making this again!!! I did notice that all that spinach (I used baby spinach) gave off some excess water so I would recommend draining off any excess liquid before adding the cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I did have to thicken it with a cooked butter/flour mixture. I also used part parmasian cheese It was excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      I used 1 cup low-fat sour cream and 1 cup condensed milk. It was fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      Sorry, I tried this recipe as written and it was just ok, but this recipe is not the same one that Emeril Lagasse has on the Food Network site. His calls for 1/2 cup heavy cream to 2 lbs fresh spinach, 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and no cheddar cheese. I then tried his recipe as written and loved it. So, unless he has more than one creamed spinach recipe posted, this is quite different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Cream, butter, cheese, garlic... spinach. Not much more you could ask for! Perhaps bacon? Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      yum! i used frozen spinach, squeezed dry and parm for the cheese, and alot less.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      I just made this and I am getting ready to put it on the table for Easter dinner. It is very yummy, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Incredibly delicious, but can't make it too frequently because of the heavy cream. I can't wait until I can make this again! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      This is an excellent creamed spinach recipe but I found it was missing a step. Prior to step # 9, if your fresh spinach yields more than 1/4 cup of water it should either be cooked off or drained. I did not know this, and continued with the addition of cream. My spinach remained very liquid so I made a buerre manie before adding the cheese. Great flavors!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      The best I've ever had!! My family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      This was some delicious creamed spinach. I actually only made half the recipe because I only needed a little bit of it as an ingredient in another recipe. I didnt have fresh spinach, so I just used frozen. I didnt bake it either, I just added all the cheese in the pan and let it melt together. I did have to add a little more butter and cream to get the creaminess that I wanted. I tasted it before using it in another dish, and it was very good! I bet this would be good with a little bit of bacon sauteed in it also! Yum! Whenever I need some creamed spinach this is the recipe to go to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

    • on February 03, 2009

      5 stars!! This is an outstanding recipe and it's easy. I washed the spinach in the lettuce spinner and did not have any excess water. Next time I'll use Half and Half so I won't feel like I'm getting so many calories. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      I was a little bit leery of this at first because the ingrediants just didn't look like creamed spinach, but WOW! I made it for Thanksgiving and everybody loved this..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      Fantastic Recipe!! I used a spoon or so extra butter and half and half, because I didn't have cream. And being Italian, I added about 1/4 cup grated Parmeseano Ramano cheese!! I also used some cornstarch to help it thicken. I used a bag of chopped spinach and boiled it completely first before straining out the water. I was GREAT! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Emeril's Creamed Spinach

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 465.4
     
    Calories from Fat 370
    79%
    Total Fat 41.1 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 25.5 g
    127%
    Cholesterol 137.6 mg
    45%
    Sodium 460.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 17.1 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites