13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was the best pumpkin cheesecake I've made so far, and I've tried 5 other recipes. I should have known Emeril's would be the best. It's easy and delicious. Definitely beat this minimally, bake it in a water bath and run the knife around the edge when done baking....this way it won't crack. I want to point out that it DOES NOT make two pies as someone stated, unless you are using those cheap pre-made graham cracker crust, which I don't recommend. It makes one cheesecake in a springform pan.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Chris November 12, 2009

Thanks Tish, I love this great recipe! I made it for thanksgiving 2008 everyone raved about it. The cheesecake was creamy in texture and a delicate pumpkin flavour but very rich in taste. I used organic pumpkin puree and the cheesecake came out perfect not a crack anywhere just beautiful and no water bath. I served it with Rum soaked Blackberry's with a dollop of Devonshire Cream. I will say that the graham cracker crust in this recipe deserves a rave review in it's self my cheesecake just slides off the spring form disk. I have made this cheesecake several times always with great success. Unfortunately Mr.Frost came early this year and my pumpkins got touched so I couldn't use them them. Thanks for Emeril's recipe he is the best!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oilpatchjo November 22, 2010

This was fabulous! I have made several pumpkin cheesecakes, and this one was the best. I made it with the ingredients exactly as the recipe called for. I did put it in a water bath, cooked it at 350 for an hour, then turned the oven off and opened the door slightly and left it in there for about 30 mins. It was perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy918Mom November 02, 2009

Made this for Thanksgiving - giving. Divided the recipe into two pumpkin-shaped foil pans -- the kind they sell for Jack-o-lantern cakes -- and had enough filling left over for a third. First time I've had an argument over who gets the baked goods!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary134e December 19, 2012

This was amazing - the only change I made was substituting 1/2 ground gingersnaps for 1/2 of the graham cracker crumbs. It did crack a little on top after I took it out of the oven. It probalby wouldn't have if I turned off the oven and left it in there to cool down. No matter, I topped it with bourbon flavored whipped cream - I'm adding a picture, it was so beautiful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcbathr November 23, 2012

I made this for my son's birthday and everyone at the table just loved it, including his five month old daughter! Excellent recipe I will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tami 2 January 21, 2010

Yum Yum Yum. This was the hit of Thanksgiving. The only thing I changed was subbing crushed gingersnaps in place of the graham crackers. It was delicious. The texture of the cheesecake was lighter and more airy than any other cheesecake I've made, which I appreciated. Thanks for posting !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitaholic January 27, 2009

This was the best cheesecake I've ever made!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajean December 09, 2008

This dessert was my Thanksgiving contribution, and everyone loved it. I used the gingersnaps like Jessica suggested, upped the spices like "Got Twins" suggested. Good results. Some at the party felt I should make these and sell them. Yep, a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oldman437 November 28, 2008

Raves from our thanksgiving guests! I served it with freshly whipped and flavored cream (a little nutmeg and Triple Sec). Nobody missed the pumpkin pie and thorough enjoyed this instead! I followed the recipe exactly as well as the bake time and it turned out just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebS #2 November 28, 2008
Emeril Lagasse's Pumpkin Cheesecake