12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a really good recipe. It was one of the pinkest cole slaws I've ever seen, but the taste was just how I like my cole slaw. I'm adding it to my favorites!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W March 15, 2002

I am generally not a big cole slaw fan, BUT this one is perfect. I put in a little less sugar, because I don't like sweet slaw, and it was so good. We put it on top of pulled pork sandwiches and it was truly a hit. Red cabbage is not an option here. It is a must. Sprinkle a little coarse salt over it! Great!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry Bruno September 27, 2002

Fantastic!<br/><br/>My first coleslaw - made for pulled pork sandwiches.<br/><br/>This reminded me of a favourite recipe - Whole Foods Sonoma Chicken Salad - maybe because of the combination of mayo, slight sweetness, and an overall fresh, cool, just rich enough feeling.<br/><br/>My only issue was using old old old celery seeds from the spice cabinet - and I just read that old celery seeds acquire a bitter taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
benila May 06, 2013

Got rave reviews at the barbecue I took it to. BUT I left out the cayenne. This coleslaw definitely has enough bite without it. I also added 3 T. brown sugar because the apple cider vinegar seemed to outweigh everything else until I added more sugar. I used 1/2 a shallot instead of 1/2 c. of onion, and entirely left out the green pepper. It was really good, everybody begged for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dsnider October 22, 2011

This was really, really good until I added the yellow onion, then it overpowered the rest. So I would make it again, but without the onion or with much less.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Astramom August 30, 2009

Just a "regular cole slaw" taken to a higher level! Sure, cabbage, carrot, green pepper, mayonnaise, sounds pretty ordinary, right? NOT! The extra ingredients, dijon mustard, apple cider vinegar, celery seed, cayenne, etc. are in perfect balance. I added the grated onion to the dressing because I thought that was the best way to distribute them equally through the salad. I used yogurt instead of the buttermilk. The parsley is a really nice finish. If I am making a "traditional" cole slaw, this is certainly the way I will make it. Thank you Amber Dawn, for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja December 14, 2007

I agree with Bone Man "darn good coleslaw"!!!! I am sorry to report that Dh kept asking what was in it. I knew that something was up. He did not care for the Cayenne Pepper. Which I "could" easily leave out next time. BUT I told Dh he better get use to it as he would be seeing this coleslaw often. Great recipe Amber Dawn. Now if you could just give me a recipe to take care of the picky eaters of this world. LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit^..^ty Of Canada August 12, 2007

Really just darn good coleslaw -- certainly not boring but, thankfully, not weird either. I made it just as it says and at the end, after tasting it, I I added two teaspoons full of sugar which suited our palattes a bit more. Thanks for posting, Amber!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bone Man December 06, 2005

This is FABULOUS. I am pretty picky when it comes to cole slaw and only like it if it is homemade (can't take the store bought) The flavors in this are wonderful! I have made this about 5 times now since finding your recipe here on Zaar! Everyone loves it! I will always make coleslaw like this from now on. The only change I made was to lighten up on the brown sugar.... Thanks Amber Dawn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper November 14, 2005

This was terrific tasting. Even my teenaged son said it was the best part of the dinner! I changed the quanities to four servings and used a bag of pre-shredded cole slaw. The dijon with the brown sugar and buttermilk makes a great flavor. Served this with crab cakes and broccoli rice. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado October 11, 2005
Emeril Lagasse's Coleslaw