Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Emeril Lagasse's Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Emeril Lagasse's Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2002

      This was a really good recipe. It was one of the pinkest cole slaws I've ever seen, but the taste was just how I like my cole slaw. I'm adding it to my favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2002

      I am generally not a big cole slaw fan, BUT this one is perfect. I put in a little less sugar, because I don't like sweet slaw, and it was so good. We put it on top of pulled pork sandwiches and it was truly a hit. Red cabbage is not an option here. It is a must. Sprinkle a little coarse salt over it! Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Fantastic!<br/><br/>My first coleslaw - made for pulled pork sandwiches.<br/><br/>This reminded me of a favourite recipe - Whole Foods Sonoma Chicken Salad - maybe because of the combination of mayo, slight sweetness, and an overall fresh, cool, just rich enough feeling.<br/><br/>My only issue was using old old old celery seeds from the spice cabinet - and I just read that old celery seeds acquire a bitter taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      Got rave reviews at the barbecue I took it to. BUT I left out the cayenne. This coleslaw definitely has enough bite without it. I also added 3 T. brown sugar because the apple cider vinegar seemed to outweigh everything else until I added more sugar. I used 1/2 a shallot instead of 1/2 c. of onion, and entirely left out the green pepper. It was really good, everybody begged for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This was really, really good until I added the yellow onion, then it overpowered the rest. So I would make it again, but without the onion or with much less.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      Just a "regular cole slaw" taken to a higher level! Sure, cabbage, carrot, green pepper, mayonnaise, sounds pretty ordinary, right? NOT! The extra ingredients, dijon mustard, apple cider vinegar, celery seed, cayenne, etc. are in perfect balance. I added the grated onion to the dressing because I thought that was the best way to distribute them equally through the salad. I used yogurt instead of the buttermilk. The parsley is a really nice finish. If I am making a "traditional" cole slaw, this is certainly the way I will make it. Thank you Amber Dawn, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      I agree with Bone Man "darn good coleslaw"!!!! I am sorry to report that Dh kept asking what was in it. I knew that something was up. He did not care for the Cayenne Pepper. Which I "could" easily leave out next time. BUT I told Dh he better get use to it as he would be seeing this coleslaw often. Great recipe Amber Dawn. Now if you could just give me a recipe to take care of the picky eaters of this world. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      Really just darn good coleslaw -- certainly not boring but, thankfully, not weird either. I made it just as it says and at the end, after tasting it, I I added two teaspoons full of sugar which suited our palattes a bit more. Thanks for posting, Amber!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      This is FABULOUS. I am pretty picky when it comes to cole slaw and only like it if it is homemade (can't take the store bought) The flavors in this are wonderful! I have made this about 5 times now since finding your recipe here on Zaar! Everyone loves it! I will always make coleslaw like this from now on. The only change I made was to lighten up on the brown sugar.... Thanks Amber Dawn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      This was terrific tasting. Even my teenaged son said it was the best part of the dinner! I changed the quanities to four servings and used a bag of pre-shredded cole slaw. The dijon with the brown sugar and buttermilk makes a great flavor. Served this with crab cakes and broccoli rice. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      This was AWESOME!! I just shredded all the veggies in the food processor, green peppers & all, and combined. What a great flavor! I used a little less mayo due to personal preference. I also used Grey Poupon mustard. Just delicious!(Looked beautiful too!) This is my new cole slaw recipe from now on!! I think it's the cayenne pepper that gives it a real zing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      Yummy coleslaw! I shredded the cabbages manually, so as not to get a pink slaw. Nice, fresh taste! Thanks Amber!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Emeril Lagasse's Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.1
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    48%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 4.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 450.6 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites