Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Embarrassingly Simple, Utterly Delicious Chicken With Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Embarrassingly Simple, Utterly Delicious Chicken With Onions

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2009

      I made this a long times ago but I guess I forgot to review it. I'm adding it to my passover list. It was very good, I used Mogen David Blackberry Wine, chicken thighs, and lots more onions. Yummy and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      My family and I liked this, and it had a great flavor, but the chicken and onions didn't brown. Instead, when I uncoverd the baking pan after 90 minutes, there was a LOT of liquid, which remained even after the 30 minutes more of baking. That turned out fine, because I poured the juices off into a saucepan and reduced and thickened them to serve over the chicken, but this step did make the recipe a little more timeconsuming than I expected. Maybe I should leave the cover off the pan altogether and just baste occasionally to get the browned chicken and crisp onions I was hoping for?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      My family eats chicken every week, and I've got to say that this recipe that i made during Passover was a big hit with the family. The only thing I have to add is that I should have turned the chicken over when I took off the tin foil. Even though I poured the wine over the chicken the bottom of the chicken turned out sweeter than the top of the chicken. For this recipe I used white wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      This is great 'pushed for time and no enthusiasm' recipe. Followed the instructions almost to a-Tee, but put the onions UNDER the chicken, plus 2 more chopped up. Tipped wine over the whole lot. Onions caramelised beautifully, made a roux with flour in them when all was cooked, added another generous dribble of wine plus veg stock and this incredibly tasty gravy appeared. Then got my stick blender into it, and taa daaaa...absolute gastronimic bliss.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      Sarah, you were right on the money. I was exhausted on Christmas Eve after doing a dinner the night before and I chose your recipe for Christmas Eve dinner for three of us. Wow! It was great. Served it with baked potatoes, a veggie and salad. Just the ticket!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Quite average, I thought. I made the recipe exactly as written, using lots of garlic powder, and marsala wine. It came out fine, nothing to write home about. I agree it is easy and looks nice, so it fits the bill for "bringing a chicken dish" when you need to and you have little time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Delicious! I add chunked carrots and serve the gravy and vegetables over rice or couscous.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Excellent flavor and so simple to make. A hit with everyone!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      This chicken was mouthwatering!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Not sure what I did wrong, but this didn't come out with much flavor for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      Very good. I used blackberry wine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      The title says it all. Simple. Delicious. I substituted chicken broth and a pinch of sugar for the wine. My DH is picky, and he even ate the onions, saying yum! I ate the rest of the chicken in some soup later in the week. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      I'm giving this 5 stars because everyone in the family and guests really liked it--only I didn't like the flavor. Very easy to make. Made thighs and boneless/skinless breasts--all came out tender and good. Followed others' suggestions of putting some onions underneath and flipping the chicken when removing the aluminum foil, though next time I would leave the foil on the breasts as the top layer of these did start to dry out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Embarrassingly Simple, Utterly Delicious Chicken With Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 346.8
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    40%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 71.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 74.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 17.1 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites