Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Emaw's Salmon Patty Project Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Emaw's Salmon Patty Project

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2012

      My husband and have made this recipe over and over again. Excellent!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      I wanted to try these because I thought they would be healthier than the ones I usually make with the "rich buttery round crackers". The taste of the salmon shined in this recipe, but the texture of the cornmeals was a bit much. It reminded me of the breading typically used on fried catfish. Having said that, both my partner and I did enjoy them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      These were definitely crunchy on the outside and tender on the inside, but the taste was very bland. More cornmeal-y than salmon-y.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      I have tried a few salmon patty recipes but this is the best by far!! I did add the onion cause I really like it, Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      I have made this recipe several times and it's actually better than my mom's! (Don't tell her, tho!) It's just perfect the way it is! Don't change a thing! Debbie Atlanta, GA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2006

      These were good patties. My Dh and I liked them but my DS didn't care for these. Thanks for psting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      we thought this tasted almost like a salmon-flavored hushpuppy...seemed to be an awful lot of cornmeal in there. My husband also felt they needed a little "something" as a flavor boost. Next time I might try some lemon juice and/or some dill weed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      I'm sorry , but I found these to be quite bland & dry. Not sure what I did wrong, but they did not come out tender as they did for other reviewers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      Well, I had to make these with tuna instead of salmon so I'm leaving this unrated for now, but the way my kids raved over them, I know I'll be back to rate the real thing soon! I make tuna and/or salmon patties a lot but had never used either cornmeal or grits, and although my family will eat both I really was not sure how they would go over in the patties. The kids said they never wanted me to go back to the old way, lol, and all went back for *thirds*! (For those who might try it, I don't think the tuna comes close to doing this recipe justice and I had to add a bit of olive oil, lemon juice and some other spices to try and replicate the richer flavor of the salmon; it worked alright but I know the recipe as written would be ten times better.) I had mine with tartar sauce and lemon, one dd had ketchup, another had ranch dressing, and yet another melted cheese on hers, lol. Tell Emaw 'thanks' from my brood! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      I made these into little appetizers and they were the first to go! I wasnt sure how they would turn out as I used all cornmeal, but the texture was perfect and the taste~marvelous. I served them with tarter sauce and chipotle mayo on the side. Tell E-maw it's OK to be bossy when you have a winning recipe! Thanks again Riff for posting this~I will be making this again very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2005

      I LOVE LOVE LOVE the texture of these. I didn't have any grits, so I used all corn meal (and the required flour) I thought that they needed just a touch of a kick, so I added a squeeze of lemon and a few shakes of Habenero sauce. I also used leftover grilled salmon instead of canned. YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      Wow! Riffraff, these Salmon Patties *are* fabulous. I have been making salmon patties using cornmeal as a binder for several years, but mine were never this tender. I think the secret is the flour and especially the baking powder. The patties are tender inside, yet sturdy enough to hold their shape during frying. For me, the onions are not "optional", they are an integral part of the salmon pattie experience. I served them with Curry Mayonnaise. Riffraff, I give your Emaw an "A" on her Salmon Pattie Project. Thanks for preserving it for posterity!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2005

      I liked these, but the grits weren't my preference; however if you like an extra crunch and that corn taste, you would probably enjoy the grits. Also, I'm not clear on adding the baking powder. Over all though I enjoyed these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      Delicious! I whipped this up last night for DH and myself! It's wonderful for a fast and very tasty meal. I used canned red salmon, and added some chopped green onion to the patties, and used cornmeal in place of grits. this was a great dinner served with a side salad and a baked tater. riffraff thanks for sharing! this is a keeper...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      I said I would make this and was finally able to! DH and I give it 5*s!!!. I did 1/2 the recipe for just the 2 of us and got 4 patties out of it. It is nice and crispy and very tasty, I had tartar sauce with mine but he ate his plain, didn't want to spoil the flavor he said. I used all cornmeal as I have no idea what grits taste like being way up north in Canada :). I only used the white of the egg, less cholesterol that way too. Thanks for posting Emaw's recipe and be sure to tell her how much we liked it and will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Emaw's Salmon Patty Project

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.6
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    21%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 94.9 mg
    31%
    Sodium 438.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 25.9 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites