Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Elyse's Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Elyse's Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2003

      This is a MARVELLOUS TASTY cake! I made this today for our April Fools party and it was gone in seconds! Luckily, me, the baker, got a few crumbs to munch on, lol;) This is a really really tasty cake. I did use a little milk when preparing the coffee, that's the only addition I made. Also, your right about the icing---spreads beautifully and looks awesome on top! Thanks a hundred and one times for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      Beautiful cake! So easy to make and no effort at all. I made this for a work collegue. Staff went back for seconds. They thought the cake had been professionally made. I dusted the top with icing sugar (confectioners sugar) and had a chocolate sauce made with melted milk chocolate buttons and cream. In my oven it took 55 minutes to cook. The cake was cracked on top which gave it character and the reason I chose not to ice it. Thanks for the wonderful recipe. I'll be baking this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      this was pretty good, however I baked it for the 45 min and the bottom of the bake was a tad hard (not burnt, just a little on the rough side). I used 2 round pans, and the cake rose alot, so i had to even it out, to frost with mean chef's chocolate frosting...i will be posting a pic of it in a few days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2004

      I was looking for a quick and easy to make chocolate cake. This cake is just what I was looking for. It was moist and rich. Everyone loved it. I'll be making this again. Thanks for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      I have made this cake many many times and it is consistently wonderful. Great flavour. This is a great cake for those who adhere to a kosher diet as there is no milk in it and can be served after a meat meal. It's rich enough not to have icing which is how we enjoy it. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      Wow this cake was really great, and awesome taste. I made this and used a peanut butter frosting on top and it was wonderful. I even think this would be great without frosting, just dusted with a little confectioners sugar. Thanks I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Thank you for posting this! This is an absolutely wonderful cake. I've been looking for something easy to make for my kids birthday and I have to say, this is it!!!! This is my new favorite chocolate cake. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      this cake has got to be the best! the first time i made it, i used the full amount of ingredients in one pan and i had it cooking for about 2 hours, its didnt burn and was really yumm!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      Great chocolate cake! Made it today for a friend's birthday and it was very much loved. She said it was the best chocolate cake and my DH thought the same. I think i will make it my default chocolate cake from now on. Had it with chocolate fudge icing hummmmmmmmm. This is so easy quick and inexpensive to make (that's the best part of it) and yet so moist and tasty. I made a half recipe and baked it for 45 minutes in a 8"in square baking dish, it came out very nice. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      Dark brown, soft, easy and delicious!!! This one is a keeper. Thanks for a great recipe. I baked in 2 square pans and baked it 55 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Elyse's Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1878 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2877.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1140
    39%
    Total Fat 126.6 g
    194%
    Saturated Fat 20.9 g
    104%
    Cholesterol 423.0 mg
    141%
    Sodium 3339.7 mg
    139%
    Total Carbohydrate 419.1 g
    139%
    Dietary Fiber 19.3 g
    77%
    Sugars 252.3 g
    1009%
    Protein 40.6 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites