Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Elvis Presley's Favorite Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Elvis Presley's Favorite Whipping Cream Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2010

      This is the only pound cake I ever make now. The hardest thing about it is greasing the pan! I substituted regular flour for the cake flour, but took out two tablespoons per cup and added 2 tablespoons cornstarch per cup. I found this substitution in another cookbook I had. It turned out delicious. I make it absolutely according to the recipe and it is wonderful. In the past I have added things to it such as pecans and brown sugar in the middle or a glaze on top. Those are ok, but my favorite is the plain, unadulterated original! I am a teacher and I took this cake to the lounge this morning and it was gone by 9:00 a.m.! I had six or seven people ask me for the recipe. With these ingredients, how could you go wrong? Since the butter is such a prevalent flavor in this cake, I use a very high quality butter for this. It is also very simple to make and easy to clean up after. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2003

      I made this for the holidays and told my guys it was Elvis favorite. They ate is right up! Most of the time we have cake left over but not this one! I like it as a base for stawberry short cake, but the guys ate it like it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2003

      I halved this recipe and baked it in a loaf pan. It took a little longer than 70 minutes, but was definitely worth the wait. I'm making another pan tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Fabulous! Dense but tender crumb - exquisite! Added the zest of 2 Myer's lemons and the juice of 1 (about 1 1/2 T) to the batter & added 10 minutes cook time. Missed the COLD oven start but it didn't matter. Used the juice of the other lemon, 1 t vanilla, 1/3 cup Limoncello and a cup of sugar to make a glaze I poured into the bundt pan after taking the cake from the oven. Let it sit 0 minutes & then turned out onto cake plate. DELICIOUS beyond belief! When cool, I'll serve slices with real whipped cream and frozen blueberry sauce. Thank you 1Steve for yet another keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This is one of my top five favorite recipes EVER. This is a can't miss recipe. Don't even be tempted to substitute margaine! A lady I used to work with 25+ years ago in Northern Mississippi (very near Tupelo) brought this cake to work and it was so good I asked for the recipe. I've made it dozens of times since, the only changes being that I use six eggs, and a 300-degree oven for 90 minutes. I'm a huge chocoholic and so very often I'll divide the batter in half and add baking cocoa and a little milk to half to make a marbled cake. Tonite I tried still another variation: adding a half cup chopped pecans as a garnish after a Marble Pound Recipe I clipped years ago from Southern Living magazine. Oh, and my recipe also calls for 1/2 teaspoon salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      My Husband has been making this for years! Everyone that has tasted it, has said it is the best they have ever had. Always wanting him to make it for special holidays. Will never make another recipe again. Freezes well too, he makes it in two loaf pans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      I was debating between giving this 3 or 4 stars. I'd say it's about a 3.5 star recipe. I got this recipe from Gourmet magazine's website. I read some of the reviews on their site and many people say to omit an egg as it was too eggy so that's what I did. It still came out pretty eggy with only 6 eggs. I also reduced my sugar by 1/2 c and it was still too sweet so if I used this recipe again, I'd use only 2 c sugar. The cake only took about 1 hr to bake up. I think it may have been done earlier as it started shrinking from the sides. Cake came out a pretty good texture, but was too sweet. It has more of an eggy taste than a buttery one. Still on the lookout for a good pound cake recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2003

      A beautiful moist cake with a fine texture. Cake rose to top of bundt pan, then formed a lovely golden crust. I followed the easy instructions exactly and was very pleased with this cake. I did add lemon extract as suggested, and glazed with a powdered sugar/lemon glaze. Good recipe, Steve. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2003

      I have made this pound cake for years (I also got it from my newspaper) and always found it to be extremely delicious. Always gets rave reviews whenever I bring it to Church Choir dinners, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      I thought I had discovered the best pound cake until I met this one. WOW says it all! Absolutely delicious and a head turner. It turned out perfect. Moist, dense and heavy but light in a different kind of way. I will make this my #1 recipe for pound cake. Now my Ricotta pound cake has to take 2nd place.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Very good pound cake. I made it with slight variations those being I added about 3 tablespoons lemon zest and 3 tablespoons lemon juice AND about a teaspoon of Lemon Extract. The lemon flavor was still pretty mild even with all that. This has a nice crispy almost chewy crust and a wonderfully moist interior. Watch your time closely on this cake though. I wasn't paying close enough attention and at the 70 minute mark the outside was pretty brown. Might be my oven though. Thanks for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      I wanted a simple-looking, but awesome tasting cake for dessert. This was it. Normally I don't care for pound cakes, they always seem to turn out dry or gummy. But I figured, if this was good enough for Elvis.....This cake was the perfect texture, moist on the inside with a golden brown crust. I did use a cake flour subsitute (Cake Flour Substitute) which worked out great. This will definately go on my list to make again! Thanks Steve

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      So good that I had to divide it up among my neighbors to keep us from eating it all in one sitting. Also helps to picture the fat Elvis while you're eating it, not the young Elvis....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2003

      Rich and delicious. Definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2014

      Too sweet, eggy and gummy. I did not like this recipe. Followed recipe to a T, except I added a pinch of salt and still unhappy with results. I will look for another pound cake recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      I just made this cake and it's wonderful 1steve! so light and fluffy and a perfect base for strawberry shortbread. Can hardly wait for the 4th of July to make it for that. It's now a toss-up between this and a pound cake I make for which one is my fav. BUT, even though I love mine this one is a bit more versatile. I did do one thing different because I was wanting a 'white" pound cake. I used four whole eggs and three just the whites. Ummm it's sooooo good. Thanks for a great recipe. One i'll be using a lot! DAR Lady

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      I just finished making this cake and it is delicious! Only thing I did different was I used both almond and vanilla extract and substituted 1 cup of flour with a cup of almond flour. The cake is deliciously moist with lots of flavor! This recipe is a keeper..........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      I've made this cake a few times and it's delicious! The crumb is dense but tender but light. It's not as heavy as some pound cakes. Slices cleanly. We didn't find the cake too sweet but thought that it was a little bland the first time I made it, so I've adjusted the extracts and use a combination of extracts as well as a teaspoon of rosewater. I also brush on a glaze while the cake is still warm and drizzle with a thin icing after it has cooled. I let the cake cool in the pan for 20 - 25 minutes before turning it out and have used both a bundt and a tube pan. The cake rose higher in the tube pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      Not a bad pound cake but I gave it 4 stars because Amanda's Cheese Pound Cake
      Amanda's Cheese Pound Cake is better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      My review came up with only 3 stars even though I hit five stars. This is DEFINATELY a five-star recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Elvis Presley's Favorite Whipping Cream Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 847.9
     
    Calories from Fat 347
    41%
    Total Fat 38.6 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 22.8 g
    114%
    Cholesterol 264.5 mg
    88%
    Sodium 277.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 116.3 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 75.3 g
    301%
    Protein 10.5 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites