54 Reviews

This is the only pound cake I ever make now. The hardest thing about it is greasing the pan! I substituted regular flour for the cake flour, but took out two tablespoons per cup and added 2 tablespoons cornstarch per cup. I found this substitution in another cookbook I had. It turned out delicious. I make it absolutely according to the recipe and it is wonderful. In the past I have added things to it such as pecans and brown sugar in the middle or a glaze on top. Those are ok, but my favorite is the plain, unadulterated original! I am a teacher and I took this cake to the lounge this morning and it was gone by 9:00 a.m.! I had six or seven people ask me for the recipe. With these ingredients, how could you go wrong? Since the butter is such a prevalent flavor in this cake, I use a very high quality butter for this. It is also very simple to make and easy to clean up after. Highly recommended!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eesmith5118 September 28, 2010

I made this for the holidays and told my guys it was Elvis favorite. They ate is right up! Most of the time we have cake left over but not this one! I like it as a base for stawberry short cake, but the guys ate it like it was.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelfan January 09, 2003

I halved this recipe and baked it in a loaf pan. It took a little longer than 70 minutes, but was definitely worth the wait. I'm making another pan tonight!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elvis Cooks January 30, 2003

Fabulous! Dense but tender crumb - exquisite! Added the zest of 2 Myer's lemons and the juice of 1 (about 1 1/2 T) to the batter & added 10 minutes cook time. Missed the COLD oven start but it didn't matter. Used the juice of the other lemon, 1 t vanilla, 1/3 cup Limoncello and a cup of sugar to make a glaze I poured into the bundt pan after taking the cake from the oven. Let it sit 0 minutes & then turned out onto cake plate. DELICIOUS beyond belief! When cool, I'll serve slices with real whipped cream and frozen blueberry sauce. Thank you 1Steve for yet another keeper recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend January 04, 2013

This is one of my top five favorite recipes EVER. This is a can't miss recipe. Don't even be tempted to substitute margaine! A lady I used to work with 25+ years ago in Northern Mississippi (very near Tupelo) brought this cake to work and it was so good I asked for the recipe. I've made it dozens of times since, the only changes being that I use six eggs, and a 300-degree oven for 90 minutes. I'm a huge chocoholic and so very often I'll divide the batter in half and add baking cocoa and a little milk to half to make a marbled cake. Tonite I tried still another variation: adding a half cup chopped pecans as a garnish after a Marble Pound Recipe I clipped years ago from Southern Living magazine. Oh, and my recipe also calls for 1/2 teaspoon salt.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lobstah Lovah December 21, 2008

My Husband has been making this for years! Everyone that has tasted it, has said it is the best they have ever had. Always wanting him to make it for special holidays. Will never make another recipe again. Freezes well too, he makes it in two loaf pans.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristineT8 August 01, 2012

I was debating between giving this 3 or 4 stars. I'd say it's about a 3.5 star recipe. I got this recipe from Gourmet magazine's website. I read some of the reviews on their site and many people say to omit an egg as it was too eggy so that's what I did. It still came out pretty eggy with only 6 eggs. I also reduced my sugar by 1/2 c and it was still too sweet so if I used this recipe again, I'd use only 2 c sugar. The cake only took about 1 hr to bake up. I think it may have been done earlier as it started shrinking from the sides. Cake came out a pretty good texture, but was too sweet. It has more of an eggy taste than a buttery one. Still on the lookout for a good pound cake recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
embuggy August 03, 2009

A beautiful moist cake with a fine texture. Cake rose to top of bundt pan, then formed a lovely golden crust. I followed the easy instructions exactly and was very pleased with this cake. I did add lemon extract as suggested, and glazed with a powdered sugar/lemon glaze. Good recipe, Steve. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachGirl July 01, 2003

I have made this pound cake for years (I also got it from my newspaper) and always found it to be extremely delicious. Always gets rave reviews whenever I bring it to Church Choir dinners, etc.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbara Steimle January 30, 2003

I thought I had discovered the best pound cake until I met this one. WOW says it all! Absolutely delicious and a head turner. It turned out perfect. Moist, dense and heavy but light in a different kind of way. I will make this my #1 recipe for pound cake. Now my Ricotta pound cake has to take 2nd place.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
autoshowcase May 10, 2010
Elvis Presley's Favorite Whipping Cream Pound Cake