40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the BEST recipe!! I get requests for it at Thanksgiving & Christmas. I like a sweeter casserole, so I increase the brown sugar to 3/4 c. packed and the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp. I also add 1/4 c. of crushed pineapple....just because I like it. Some reviewers didn't know what to do with the butter. I just added it while I was mashing the potatoes and used it to grease the pan. If you are looking for a recipe to keep for years, this is the one. Thanks John!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doxiemom December 10, 2008

Really good...will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pccreative January 11, 2014

Went over well at Thanksgiving, although one person thought they were a little thin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blueshark77 November 29, 2013

This easy to make recipe reminds me of the sweet potato casserole my grandmother made. I make it every year for Thanksgiving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
booknutz January 24, 2013

Wow! Made this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit!!!! They were all asking for the recipe! So sad I didn't have any leftovers!! I'm from the South and have tried lots of great sweet potato casseroles, but this was the best!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brandie_moses February 23, 2010

I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was a huge hit! Perfect blend of flavors and great texture! I'm making it again for Christmas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arco9408 December 21, 2009

This came out very bland, so I had to increase the cinnamon and add some nutmeg. It was also very soupy, and I didn't even add all the milk. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly, although I didn't add the butter (the recipe didn't state what it was for anyway) because I didn't want the potatoes even more soupy. Our family was disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbaradp November 29, 2009

Excellent!! Made this for Thanksgiving and everyone enjoyed it. Omitted the pecans. Much lighter and fluffier than other casseroles I've tried, and not too sweet. Just right! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama November 28, 2009

Great side dish! I love sweet potato casserole and this is a winner. I like mine a tad sweeter but I think I messed that part up. I had increased the serving amount on one computer when making my shopping list and then forgot to increase it on my other computer. So it was a bit thicker (used less milk and all other ingredients) and had almost double the sweet potatoes. It turned out delicious but next time will stick to the recipe. I made it in a 9x13 pan and eyeballed the pecans and marshmallows. You cannot mess this recipe up no matter what you do to it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mybirdzone November 28, 2009

Unfotunately, I do not care for sweet poatoaes and my husband rated this. It is what it is. Always happy to try something new!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
padreaming March 14, 2009
Elvis' Favorite Sweet Potato Casserole