Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Elvis' Favorite Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Elvis' Favorite Sweet Potato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2008

      This is the BEST recipe!! I get requests for it at Thanksgiving & Christmas. I like a sweeter casserole, so I increase the brown sugar to 3/4 c. packed and the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp. I also add 1/4 c. of crushed pineapple....just because I like it. Some reviewers didn't know what to do with the butter. I just added it while I was mashing the potatoes and used it to grease the pan. If you are looking for a recipe to keep for years, this is the one. Thanks John!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      Really good...will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Went over well at Thanksgiving, although one person thought they were a little thin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      This easy to make recipe reminds me of the sweet potato casserole my grandmother made. I make it every year for Thanksgiving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Wow! Made this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit!!!! They were all asking for the recipe! So sad I didn't have any leftovers!! I'm from the South and have tried lots of great sweet potato casseroles, but this was the best!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was a huge hit! Perfect blend of flavors and great texture! I'm making it again for Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This came out very bland, so I had to increase the cinnamon and add some nutmeg. It was also very soupy, and I didn't even add all the milk. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly, although I didn't add the butter (the recipe didn't state what it was for anyway) because I didn't want the potatoes even more soupy. Our family was disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Excellent!! Made this for Thanksgiving and everyone enjoyed it. Omitted the pecans. Much lighter and fluffier than other casseroles I've tried, and not too sweet. Just right! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Great side dish! I love sweet potato casserole and this is a winner. I like mine a tad sweeter but I think I messed that part up. I had increased the serving amount on one computer when making my shopping list and then forgot to increase it on my other computer. So it was a bit thicker (used less milk and all other ingredients) and had almost double the sweet potatoes. It turned out delicious but next time will stick to the recipe. I made it in a 9x13 pan and eyeballed the pecans and marshmallows. You cannot mess this recipe up no matter what you do to it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Unfotunately, I do not care for sweet poatoaes and my husband rated this. It is what it is. Always happy to try something new!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I made this for Christmas dinner and it was a hit. will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      I made this for Christmas dinner. My entire family loved it and said it was better than the old recipe we had been using. I love the way the marshmellows crisp on top to form a crunchy top layer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      These were the best sweet potatoes I've ever eaten. I made them for Thanksgiving dinner and everyone raved about how good they were. They have all asked for the recipe. This is definitely one to keep and make over and over!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      This was yum yum and then some! But I must confess I changed it a little bit. My husband wanted sweet potato chunks instead of puree so I boiled them until just tender, let them cool and sliced them up into medium cubes. The problem then was the eggs. I did not want scrambled eggs so I just left them out but I added everything else according to the recipe. It turned out wonderful and it was the first of the Thanksgiving sides to disappear. Next year, though--maybe I won't wait that long--I want to try the recipe just as it is. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      If I had a dollar for ever sweet potato casserole recipe I've tried.... This one was over the top delish and the pecans made the best addition. The flavor of the vanilla really shined with the spice and sweet. My guests went to this first when it came time for seconds. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Total indulgence but hey, if it is good enough for the King -- it is good enough for me! Tasty tasty recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Thank you for a great additon to our christmas fare. We truely appreciated it. It was a perfect balance of sweet - and yet not too sweet. :) Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Top notch! I can see why Elvis loved this! I used about 1/3 cup brown sugar, fat-free evaporated milkand skipped the pecans to save some calories. Everyone loved it. Thanks John (and Elvis).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      Excellent! I made this ahead of time (except for adding the marshmallows & nuts). It tasted delicious, and made the house smell great. I did use canned yams instead of fresh, which tasted fine and decreased the prep time. I will make this again (and I won't wait until the holidays!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      What can I say that already hasn't been said? Fabulous! Great blend of flavor and texture, loved by all! Made the recipe exactly as stated and had compliments all around. Thanks John!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Elvis' Favorite Sweet Potato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 402.7
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    45%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 107.3 mg
    35%
    Sodium 146.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 26.6 g
    106%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites