8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have not made potato in a long time. This recipe has simple ingredients and is easy to make. I used half regular mayo and half fat free when I made this. Made for I Recommend Tag - September 2010 and the person that recommended this, was Debbwl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J October 10, 2010

This is the way I'm making chicken salad. Made half recipe and I used homemade mayonnaise. Perfect amount for ingredients. Thanks for sharing a simple and delicious dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia July 05, 2010

Very good. Love how quick and easy this was. It went supper well with our pork chops. Cut in half and made using fat free mayonnaise, thin skinned white potatoes (because that is what I had on hand) and used celery seed in place of chopped celery. Did not miss the bacon that is in most German Potato Salads as it was served with Simple Rosemary Rubbed Pork Chopsa great paring. Thanks for the posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl August 26, 2009

Great, great potato salad! I served this warm, as it is somewhat traditional in the Maryland ( *German* dissent) home to serve it this way. Followed this exactly, but next time might at some bacon bits on top, just for fun. The ingredients were spot on, and I wouldn't of changed anything. I am glad you posted this, as we enjoyed it immensely. Made for *Please Review My Recipe* Fall 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm November 02, 2008

I scaled this recipe back for two and used two eggs (as I really like potato and egg salads) and chopped both and included both in the salad: no decoration on top. But that would be a lovely touch if one were making this for guests. The very first potato salad I made had celery in it and I've always felt that the crunch from the celery (and onion) provides great textural variety. I used a red onion. I also added 1/2 cup chopped ham. And because I'd used closer to a pound of potatoes than 3/4 pound, I added 1/2 cup of Greek yoghurt to the mayonnaise. This potato salad was easy to make creamy and flavoursome. Thank you Elva, 2Bleu(Bird&Buddha) for sharing this recipe. We really enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder September 25, 2008

This was the best potato salad I've eaten besides my grandmas and it came in really really close to hers. I steamed my potatos in a zip n steam bag in the microwave for 14 min. I then rinsed them in cold water and added the other ingredients. The only difference was, I didn't have any celery but I used celery seeds from my spice rake. Again, this was really good. I served to my inlaws with brisket and baked beans. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 August 12, 2008

Very tasty! I didn't have any celery so I chopped up some green cabbage finely and added that instead. I'm taking this tonight to a BBQ, but couldn't resist eating a bit earlier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitzy June 06, 2008

Excellent potato salad! Just like my mom's! I added more salt and pepper to taste. We all loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks November 30, 2007
Elva's Famous German Potato Salad