76 Reviews

I usually only comment when something is great, however these cookies came out very very salty, didn't taste like sugar cookies at all. I am wondering if anyone else had the same problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lou D. October 07, 2013

This is a wonderful and easy sugar cookie cut-out recipe. Perfectly simple enough to bake and decorate with kids! The cookies came out perfect. I used Sugar Cookie Icing Sugar Cookie Icing from Food.com to ice them. Lovely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks October 04, 2013

This recipe is HORRIBLE! Do not use! They do not taste like sugar cookies at all! Tasted like biscuits, it was awful!!! The reason the recipe is so simple is because it's not good, don't waste your time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose8685 June 14, 2013

I LOVE this recipe! Instead of using vanilla, I use 2tsps of almond extract. Everyone thinks I'm a pro! I bought the smallest strawberry cookie cutter and painted the cookies with just watered down food colouring before I baked them....AMAZING! Because of you, I make the most amazing birthday cookies! Thanx Gingerbee! MUAH!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soraya Bakes May 13, 2013

These are SOOOO good! I took the advice of some other reviews, and made them a bit thicker since I enjoy soft sugar cookies. We used the RecipeZaar recipe: http://www.recipezaar.com/Sugar-Cookie-Frosting-235776 for the frosting and the results were fantastic! Now I just have to refrain from eating too many ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hope2BChef February 14, 2012

Pretty good. I do prefer softer, sweeter cookies and these bake harder and are not that sweet. Only problem was that the dough turned crumbly after mixing, even though I followed directions and softened the butter before use. To solve, I added a few drops of water at a time to the crumbly dough, until it was smooth and pliable. A tip I read: use confectioner sugar instead of flour to roll out dough. That really helped add more sweetness! I'm giving a 4 due to not needing to refrigerate prior to use, recipe ease, and fact that dough held the cookie cutter shapes. Would make again as my 9, 4, and yr old loved them :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Can't Boil Water February 03, 2011

These are fantastic! I have tried several sugar cookie recipes from food.com- even those Granny's cookies that were so popular- and I found these to be SO much better! I amended the recipe a little bit based on other's reviews- I sprinkled in some orange zest into the dough ( probably 1 teaspoon at the most) and added one- half teaspoon of almond extract in addition to the vanilla-. Then if I needed any flour while rolling out I a conf sugar and flour mix on the roller so the dough did not get bland. These are crisper cookies than the soft sugar cookies- much better to my liking. They are more the old fashioned variety. And they taste so much better. Thank you Eloise!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
margieshea December 12, 2010

These were really fun and easy to make! I made them in all differant shapes, including dog bone. I will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
looneytunesfan September 19, 2010

We had such a blast baking & decorating these cookies! They were sooo easy to make, and soo fluffy! The only downside that I found was they were a little on the bland side.. Next time, I'll add in a lil' somethin' somethin' to give it a bit more flavor. But, everyone else LOVED them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katelyn.Rose December 12, 2009
Eloise's Easy Sugar Cookies