73 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My sister and I made these this weekend for Christmas gift-giving, and had no problems at all with the dough, or the flvor of the baked cookies. We made several different sizes from 1" to 2" and found we needed different baking times based on size and thickness - 6 minutes for the smaller/thinner ones, and 7 minutes for the bigger/thicker ones. Time cooling also seemed to affect whether or not they held together...we had some angel wings and heads break off trying to get them off the pan :( Overall, this was a simple and flavorful recipe - we used powdered sugar to roll out, and the dough was the perfect consistency. We did chill it for about 15 minutes before rolliing them out, but after that we used the dough at room temperature with no problems. Will definitely make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative December 16, 2013

Let me start off by saying, I've always been hesitant about these kinds of cookies (cut out). I made these last night and they came out GREAT!! I love them (I did let my dough chill for about 15-20 mins just to be safe) I was able to cut them out easily, this will be my GO TO RECIPE from now on!! THANKS SO MUCH!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NOT2PCKY December 12, 2013

Just a comment on some reviewers saying they were too salty...wonder if they were using salted butter? I hadn't even considered it, but we only ever buy unsalted butter and mine turned out delicious. If salted butter is not supposed to be used, maybe it should be mentioned in the recipe. This was my first time making suger cookies (with a 2 year old!) and they turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amanwilliams75 December 08, 2013

I'm sorry but these are not doughy, they come out as a thick batter and when I tried to roll it out I ended up with thick batter stuck to my hands and everything else. I stuck it in the fridge just now hoping it will harden enough to roll out so my son can use cookie cutters, fingers crossed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewelch72 December 07, 2013

So easy and very delicious!! So happy I made christmas cookies with this recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie_Dowling December 06, 2013

REally good sugar cookies. I let my kids go to town with them one afternoon....easy enough for children to make!<br/><br/>(From www.cougarflirts.com)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alina s. November 30, 2013

These cookies are not good for cookie cutters this recipe failed on that the cookie dough was too gooey to even shape with your hands!!!!! I was making Halloween cookies when this failed so we made them circular cookies and may i say they smelt delicious and tasted Ok!! I know i did the recipe right but over all bad recipe for cookie cutting and Ok recipe for decorating and eating!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hallie H. October 20, 2013

I usually only comment when something is great, however these cookies came out very very salty, didn't taste like sugar cookies at all. I am wondering if anyone else had the same problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lou D. October 07, 2013

This is a wonderful and easy sugar cookie cut-out recipe. Perfectly simple enough to bake and decorate with kids! The cookies came out perfect. I used Sugar Cookie Icing Sugar Cookie Icing from Food.com to ice them. Lovely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks October 04, 2013

This recipe is HORRIBLE! Do not use! They do not taste like sugar cookies at all! Tasted like biscuits, it was awful!!! The reason the recipe is so simple is because it's not good, don't waste your time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose8685 June 14, 2013
Eloise's Easy Sugar Cookies