Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ellie's Chorizo & Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ellie's Chorizo & Beans

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2012

      We loved it. Great flavor. Very healthy. Served with Guac and corn tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      This was ok. It was easy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

    • on February 15, 2008

      This recipe is easy, tasty and inexpensive. It was very spicy, which I like, but if you have picky eaters in your house, I'de be careful with the Jalapeno. My mother suggested using crushed red pepper instead of jalapeno, which I haven't tried but I'm sure would adjust the flavor. I will definitely make this dish again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Pretty tasty- I think I would have enjoyed this much more if I had chorizo that was not cased in plastic!!! Ykes! I had to empty the casings and the chorizo was soooooooo greasy. Once I drained it, however, it all came together pretty well. I did add 1/2 small can of green Herdez salsa b/c I wanted more spice and only simmered for about 15 minutes- seemed to need more juice to simmer any longer. We served on fresh flour tortillas with guacamole, sour cream and tomatoes. Yum! Thanks for sharing, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Good, basic beans and sausage. I was lucky this week and able to find chorizo. This was a great way to use it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Flavorful & spicy! We used the "hot" chorizo, and a large jalapeno. Served with warmed corn tortillas and guacamole, they made the perfect tacos. (Note: I only simmered for 20 minutes since the beans are already soft since they are canned, and the flavors were perfectly melded without cooking for an hour.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      I love this recipe. I am a little careful with the jalapeno trying to add less if I get a particularly hot crop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      Good, heartwarming food. I would add next time some tinned tomatoes. Otherwise wouldn't change a thing, good balance of flavors. Did serve as suggested, and some guacamole on the side, yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      Rita, this is great! This is the recipe I have been turning to when I want spicy, easy and simple to make. I have been serving this as a tostado topping, but the appetizer version would be a hit with my family, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2004

      DH really liked this one. I served it with Tamales and sour cream. Very good and not as hot as the Chorizo Beans he makes. We will have this often! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2004

    • on July 31, 2004

      This made a great lunch! I used soy chorizo instead of real sausage and I cheated a little and used a can of refried beans(I was really hungry and couldn't wait 1 hour!) I served with guacamole and salsa. Thanks so much for this yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ellie's Chorizo & Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.1
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    42%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 49.9 mg
    16%
    Sodium 704.7 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 13.4 g
    53%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 26.8 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes