Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ellie's catfish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ellie's catfish

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2003

      Easy and very tasty! Will definitely make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      We loved the thyme and basil combination on this fish. And it was a lot like fried without frying it. The breading is very good. Very easy and quick to make. I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2002

      This was delicous! Because I didn't have two of the specified ingredients, I substituted garlic powder in place of fresh garlic, and Old Bay Seasoning instead of cajun seasoning. My husband thought it was still fabulous. I shall make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2003

      This recipe ROCKS!!! I let the fish sit in the milk and garlic for quite a while, and I used a bit more creole seasoning in the two pieces that my bf and I ate hehe.. but the family loved this.. Thanks for suggesting it.. its definitely a recipe I'll hold on to :-) everyone loved it!!! The lemon pepper really adds some wonderful flavor to the fish. Oh, By the way, you didnt mention when to add the paprika, so I just put it in with all of the other seasonings!! Thanks for a great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      For taste, appearance, presentation, and ease of preparation, I give this recipe five stars. My only complaint was that it did not reheat well in the microwave. No biggie to me. If you substitute the 2% milk for skim milk and use a total of 16 oz of tilapia, each serving of fish is 3 ww points. Very yummy! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      Oh Ellie, this was fantabulous! My husband loved it, and so did I. We used Spicy Catfish Tenders With Cajun Tartar Sauce for the tarter sauce and they were a match made in heaven. Thanks for giving us a different way to have catfish. The leftovers will make good sandwiches tomorrow. Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      My husband caught a whole lotta catfish last weekend. This recipe was just the thing. The coating mixture was good and spicy, just the way we like it. A nice combination of flavors. Thanks Ellie, you've got a keeper right here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      The only change I made was to substitute panko for cornmeal -- because my cornmeal was just too far past the exp. date. (I'm talking years.) Anyway, this recipe is perfect. Usually I would think 30 minutes is too long to cook fish but it was fantastic. Thanks ellie. This one is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      This was such a nice meal! Loved the crunch from the cornmeal and the pepperiness that didn't overwhelm. I used tilapia instead of catfish but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. Thanks, ellie_! Made for Cookbook tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Fantastic! It is even kid-friendly as my 5 yo daughter requests this recipe on her nights to pick dinner. The spices definitely make this dish delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      I was curious about the 4 oz catfish fillet, but I found Delta Pride catfish fillets at Sam's Club that are each 4 oz fillets. Very straightforward recipe. I cut down on the oil, by foiling a pan. I had it with rice and tartar sauce the first day, and made it again with the left over seasoning into fish tacos the second day, using the same home made tartar sauce, cabbage, and avocado. It's healthy, which i like. The taste is 3.5 stars. There was enough seasoning to use on 8 4oz fillets.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      Very good recipe for a great fish. The instructions for baking were very accurate - my fish was soft & tender at 30 minutes on the dot. The seasoning blend is very good - full of zest. Next time, I will reduce the amount of cajun seasoning and lemon pepper a bit as they almost overpowered the delicate flavor of the fish. Also, the directions do not mention when to add the paprika, and as a result, I overlooked it. Overall, a very good recipe and one I will turn to again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      Love4culinary, I'm glad you liked the catfish and thank you for mentioning that I forgot to write down when to add the paprika. I sprinkle it on the catfish just before I put them on the baking sheet. Thanks for trying Ellie's Catfish. Ellie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      They tasted really good and I liked the idea of baking so it wouldn't have all that grease. I will be making again and maybe play a little with some spices on it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      This is my first visit to this site and my brother inlaw gave me some catfish he had caught recently. So i popped up here and found this one and made it. I must tell you it was delicious! Very flavorful and moist. The only thing I added was some lemon juice to the milk and garlic mix. My kids loved it. This goes on the family friendly dinner menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      Doesn't look like you need another review, Ellie, but I just wanted to say this is so much easier, cleaner, and faster than frying catfish.Mine was not quite as crispy as I expected, but I think I should have drained off a little more of the milk before breading the fish. The timing was perfect, just as everyone else has said. Thanks for a great recipe. Update: I made this again tonight......and instead of soaking the fish in milk, I dried it well and brushed it with melted butter before I dipped it in the breading. It turned out FANTASTIC........the breading was really crisp and browned perfectly. I may have added a few calories to the recipe, but we loved it this way. I love this way of preparing fish.......it is not greasy and I don't have to clean a fry pan. Thanks again. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      This was just OK. DH said it was too peppery. I probably won't try it again. Sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      This was great, fast, easy, and the taste was wonderful. Thank you for this recipe I have a feeling I will be using it a lot this summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      I am trying to learn as many recipes for catfish as possible since it is such a cheap and environmentally/socially responsible source of protein. This is one of the best that I have found. The boyfriend loves it, he thought it was fried! I used a coarser-ground cornmeal and it was really crunchy and delicious. Thanks Ellie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      I LOVE this recipe!! The only change I made was adding some lemon juice. I have gotten so many compliments on this recipe that it's officially "in the book".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ellie's catfish

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.4
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    38%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 63.5 mg
    21%
    Sodium 121.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 18.5 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites