33 Reviews

Easy and very tasty! Will definitely make this one again.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Randy H April 15, 2003

We loved the thyme and basil combination on this fish. And it was a lot like fried without frying it. The breading is very good. Very easy and quick to make. I'll definitely make this again.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz March 17, 2003

This was delicous! Because I didn't have two of the specified ingredients, I substituted garlic powder in place of fresh garlic, and Old Bay Seasoning instead of cajun seasoning. My husband thought it was still fabulous. I shall make this recipe again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
William Hakala September 27, 2002

This recipe ROCKS!!! I let the fish sit in the milk and garlic for quite a while, and I used a bit more creole seasoning in the two pieces that my bf and I ate hehe.. but the family loved this.. Thanks for suggesting it.. its definitely a recipe I'll hold on to :-) everyone loved it!!! The lemon pepper really adds some wonderful flavor to the fish. Oh, By the way, you didnt mention when to add the paprika, so I just put it in with all of the other seasonings!! Thanks for a great recipe!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary May 15, 2003

For taste, appearance, presentation, and ease of preparation, I give this recipe five stars. My only complaint was that it did not reheat well in the microwave. No biggie to me. If you substitute the 2% milk for skim milk and use a total of 16 oz of tilapia, each serving of fish is 3 ww points. Very yummy! Thanks so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth March 07, 2004

Oh Ellie, this was fantabulous! My husband loved it, and so did I. We used Spicy Catfish Tenders With Cajun Tartar Sauce for the tarter sauce and they were a match made in heaven. Thanks for giving us a different way to have catfish. The leftovers will make good sandwiches tomorrow. Carole in Orlando

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando December 06, 2003

My husband caught a whole lotta catfish last weekend. This recipe was just the thing. The coating mixture was good and spicy, just the way we like it. A nice combination of flavors. Thanks Ellie, you've got a keeper right here.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' September 03, 2003

The only change I made was to substitute panko for cornmeal -- because my cornmeal was just too far past the exp. date. (I'm talking years.) Anyway, this recipe is perfect. Usually I would think 30 minutes is too long to cook fish but it was fantastic. Thanks ellie. This one is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Davethedog April 18, 2012

This was such a nice meal! Loved the crunch from the cornmeal and the pepperiness that didn't overwhelm. I used tilapia instead of catfish but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. Thanks, ellie_! Made for Cookbook tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian April 01, 2011

Fantastic! It is even kid-friendly as my 5 yo daughter requests this recipe on her nights to pick dinner. The spices definitely make this dish delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissusVonkysmeed February 20, 2011
Ellie's catfish