Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Elena Ruth Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Elena Ruth Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2010

      Dec. 15, 2010
      Addiction update. Lunch today, had two. Guilty pleasures. LOL
      Sept. 18, 2009
      I'm hooked on this!!!!
      TGirl had posted her photo in Cooking Photos and when I saw it--ran to the kitchen for lunch--and this!
      Had to make it on wheat bread grilled in butter (the devil made me, honest! :) )
      So delicious and wll become my newest (but not only) addiction. Loved the stories of it's origin. THX, Bobtail for a truly tasty lunch! Caroline
      UPDATE: have made many times, but this time made with spreadable cream cheese with chives and raspberry jam. AWESOME!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      Made on Hawaiian rolls (I used 2 because they were biscuit size). I used deli sliced turkey beast. The combination of cream cheese, jam, and turkey on a sweet roll is surprisingly delicious! (and this from someone who grew up on peanut butter and bologna sandwiches LOL.)I love these! Thanks for posting Bobtail. Made for When It's Hot Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      This sandwich is awesome & delicious - I wish I knew more adjectives to use. They are sweet little pieces of sheer delight!We call them Elena Ruz Sandwiches and they also make them to serve at fancy affairs by using the little Cuban Sandwich bread that is used for bocaditos. They look lovely! I was thumbing through an old Cuban cookbook and there was the Elena Ruz - the story goes that this socialite in the 1930's would go to the El Carmelo Restaurant in Vedado and order it - and you must make it on white bread with crusts removed and lightly toasted. Then we made them here again and the residents went wild & started talking about the sandwich & how much they liked them! It is stated to use jelly and I heard all sorts of wonderful stories about their lives in Cuba (before Castro). The sandwich is one of a kind and is delicious! I am so glad that you posted this lovely recipe. They taste even better the second time! Diane :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Always on the lookout for a new sandwich, I had to try this. Easy peasy and a different taste. I think this would be awesome with home cooked turky, but I only had the deli type. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Hard to believe such easy ingredients could taste sooo yummy.I just grilled it in a pan with a bacon press on top.It was delightful.Thanks Bobtail.Rose of Sharon

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      I checked out the pics,I had everything to make this great sandwich. It is the best!!!!! Thanks so much for posting a great sandwich. It is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      this was SO GOOD !!!! Unreal!! I am not the biggest cream cheese fan out there, but I had all the ingredients on hand, as was starving for lunch. This takes no time to put together, and only a few minutes in the toaster oven to warm through. What a great combination of flavors!!! I will be having this simple but fabulous sandwich again, to be sure!!!! Thank you so much for sharing this delicious recipe!!!!! Teresa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Elena Ruth Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.5
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    28%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 52.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 97.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 26.6 g
    106%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sweet bread roll

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes