8 Reviews

I made this recipe exactly as written. My daughter and I really liked this and gave it 5 stars, but the rest of the family didn't like it at all. Oh well, the kids aren't crazy about broccoli anyway. This is going in my list of dinner party recipes. Thanks for posting this recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess September 15, 2002

This is amazing!!! I used a fresh head of broccoli. I also messed up & used the entire 8oz package of cream cheese. This would mean that my sauce was thinner than what it should have been, but that didn't matter 'cuz the flavour was fantastic. My new favourite way to eat broccoli!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mintara September 13, 2010

What a great changeup for broccoli. I used the whole broccoli, not just the stems. I also used 4 oz. of cream cheese because mine came in 8 oz. packages & I thought it simplest to halve it. Everything else was followed to a tee. It is definitely elegant enough to use at a dinner party. For those who thought the broccoli didn't get soft enough while cooking, maybe you missed in the ingredients that the broccoli should already be cooked prior to beginning the rest of the steps. Thanks for an awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misawa Mandi January 22, 2009

excellent and the kidlet wanted seconds enough to eat her rice so 5 stars for that alone

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alleycatb March 05, 2007

great recipe. i increased the cream cheese and used 1/2 cp. chicken stock vs. bouillon. one thing i did notice, the veggies were a bit hard so next time i'll cover them with foil during the cooking process and increase the cooking time a bit. overall rating: great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lulu #280529 January 10, 2006

made this to accompany our lobster new years eve dinner and it was excellent! Hubby enjoyed it and he generally turns his nose up to veggies. I made it with fresh broccoli...and will probably cut back a tad on all the cheese...it was just a little too much for my taste. Thanks! It is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchendiva January 01, 2004

Great recipe! I love broccoli anyway, but this had such a great flavor. I did stray a bit. I used fresh broccoli, trees and stems, which I steamed first. It still came out fine. I will try just the frozen stems next time. Also, I don’t eat meat, so I substituted vegetable bouillon instead of chicken, which always seems to work fine for me. The green onions gave great flavor too. Will definitely make this again. ~B

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kozmic Blues March 20, 2003

This was really good. If you like broccoli and cheese dishes you should like this one. Ed

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed February 07, 2003
Elegant Broccoli