11 Reviews

Absolutely lovely recipe. PLEASE be sure to pare your kohlrabi carefully as the outside is very woody & nasty. I also used dried tarragon & a splash of cream at the end. Delightful. Except for the tough edges. :(

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo March 24, 2009

Very good. A friend gave us a large kohlrabi from her garden. I'd never had one before but after trying this recipe, I'll be having it again. I used dried tarragon and didn't use the cream as some other reviewers suggested - still tasted great. Thanks, Wasyetz, for sharing this recipe with us first-time kohlrabi eaters.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MA Blossom August 24, 2009

Very yummy! We joined a CSA this year and have been inundated with not only new vegetables but tons of everything (not that I'm complaining ;-) This week kohlrabi was in the box along with more overwintered parsnips. I added a couple of potatoes, onions, and garlic all sliced thin...it was wonderful! I took the tip from another reviewer and added a dash of 1/2 and 1/2 at the end. Also, I didn't have any tarragon but I did have several other fresh herbs in the garden so I took a handful of a variety of them and added them at the end! Delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill4man June 15, 2009

This was soooo yummy! I received some kohlabi from a farm co-op program I joined and wasn't sure just what to do with it. I'm so glad I tried this. This may become my favorite side dish. So simple yet so good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitsune September 14, 2008

Excellent!! I followed the directions and it was a wonderful side dish! The only thing I did different was added a tiny bit of cream to the "sauce" to serve!! Thank you for posting this recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose January 29, 2007

Excellent! I added 5-6 small red potatoes and sliced them into 1/4" slices. Because I added the potatoes, I needed to add more vegetable broth. I had cream in the refrigerator and forgot to add it as suggested by other reviewers. It would have thickened the little bit of sauce and been nice. I give this five stars because of the unusual/nice flavor and the ease of the recipe. Thanks, Wasyetz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelley Ann February 09, 2013

This was fabulous! The kids didn't like it, but all the adults did. We used 4, straight from the garden kohlrabi.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kodiak Momma August 10, 2011

Never having eaten kohlrabi before and not a big fan of tarragon, I was skeptical about trying this recipe. Elegant? I don't know about that, but delicious? Absolutely! This is perfect as a vegetarian lunch or dinner side dish. Thanks for expanding my horizons, Wasyetz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers September 17, 2009

Loved this dish. I also used cream at the end and I have even used rosemary when I ran out of tarragon and added leeks another. I have made it three times this month even my picky father ate it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrs mack July 31, 2009

This is my new best recipe for kohlrabi! Although I had to use dried tarragon because that's what I had. Given the opportunity I will definitely use fresh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Normaone February 01, 2009
Elegant Braised Kohlrabi