10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We love this. I doubled the recipe and still have one pie in the freezer. I used a gram cracker crust and it was very nice. A flavor all its own, but you would almost think there was chocolate in it. This was also great cold the next day and held up very well for the week we had it in the fridge as we ate two small pieces each night.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joseph Borges October 14, 2008

Wonderful!!! We picked (on June Mountain) and cleaned (which takes a long time because they are so little) the berries one afternoon and made the pie the next day, using a pre-made pie crust because I stink at making good pie crust. It was delicious. Reading the reviews below, I can't imagine that MartinMama used this recipe and had it come out not good. Makes me think that maybe your berries were not fully ripe. If they don't have that coated (powdered sugar) look on them - they aren't ready. Thanks for this sharing this recipe, Roger/OH - it's a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mswetkoff5 August 29, 2013

Not only has this recipe become a staple in our holidays each year, but as we pick a ton of elderberries each year, I also used it as a basis for my jam recipe.

We loved it so much, we're spreading the word! We shot a video on baking tips and added a homemade crust recipe that works really well with it.
http://www.urbannatureman.com/elderberry-pie/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Urbannatureman January 03, 2013

Very good pie. Nice consistency to the pie. I added more lemon juice after tasting filling, just my preference. Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin great grammy July 03, 2011

I was thoroughly disappointed with this recipe, seeing how it has such high scores. I fixed it this year for thanksgiving(09) and it was so gross! Grant it, I have never made an elderberry pie before, but have made many many other pies. People said about this pie: "It isn't sweet enough", "why is it crunchy", "eww, gross". I will not be making an elderberry pie, again. I'll save them for jelly and for a cold and flu tonic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MartinMama December 08, 2009

Before reading this recipe I never thought those berries near our home were edible. It was very simple to follow and the result was a pie that the family ate up in minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teveve September 20, 2009

I made this pie and shared some of it with my mother. She just called to say it was the most wonderful Elderberry Pie she had ever tasted! I had to find the recipe again to print a copy out for her! Thank you so much for getting this recipe from your Dad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebbieR1130 August 16, 2007

My wife and I were unsure, as we read that eating raw elderberries can make you very sick. There are many plants growing around the corner from our house and we picked them, followed the recipe, and it was terrific. My whole family ate it for dessert and the feeling that we picked them ourselves was just great. We used a frozen pie crust. Perfect. You need a top, so we bought two and cut the other one apart to lay on top. It wasn't pretty, but MMmmm... Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeeneCook July 18, 2007

Love it, I'm from Ohio too and my mom made this when I was growing up many years ago.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twopurringcats June 29, 2007

This was a great and easy recipe! I like to experiment on my co-workers and just recently discovered the wonderful treaure of elderberries in my back pasture. I made the pie and brought it in. A little while later I caught 4 people in the breakroom slurping up the juices with a spoon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Holly in Florida September 24, 2006
Elderberry Pie