Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Elderberry Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Elderberry Pie

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2008

      We love this. I doubled the recipe and still have one pie in the freezer. I used a gram cracker crust and it was very nice. A flavor all its own, but you would almost think there was chocolate in it. This was also great cold the next day and held up very well for the week we had it in the fridge as we ate two small pieces each night.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      Wonderful!!! We picked (on June Mountain) and cleaned (which takes a long time because they are so little) the berries one afternoon and made the pie the next day, using a pre-made pie crust because I stink at making good pie crust. It was delicious. Reading the reviews below, I can't imagine that MartinMama used this recipe and had it come out not good. Makes me think that maybe your berries were not fully ripe. If they don't have that coated (powdered sugar) look on them - they aren't ready. Thanks for this sharing this recipe, Roger/OH - it's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      Not only has this recipe become a staple in our holidays each year, but as we pick a ton of elderberries each year, I also used it as a basis for my jam recipe.

      We loved it so much, we're spreading the word! We shot a video on baking tips and added a homemade crust recipe that works really well with it.
      http://www.urbannatureman.com/elderberry-pie/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      Very good pie. Nice consistency to the pie. I added more lemon juice after tasting filling, just my preference. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      I was thoroughly disappointed with this recipe, seeing how it has such high scores. I fixed it this year for thanksgiving(09) and it was so gross! Grant it, I have never made an elderberry pie before, but have made many many other pies. People said about this pie: "It isn't sweet enough", "why is it crunchy", "eww, gross". I will not be making an elderberry pie, again. I'll save them for jelly and for a cold and flu tonic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Before reading this recipe I never thought those berries near our home were edible. It was very simple to follow and the result was a pie that the family ate up in minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      I made this pie and shared some of it with my mother. She just called to say it was the most wonderful Elderberry Pie she had ever tasted! I had to find the recipe again to print a copy out for her! Thank you so much for getting this recipe from your Dad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      My wife and I were unsure, as we read that eating raw elderberries can make you very sick. There are many plants growing around the corner from our house and we picked them, followed the recipe, and it was terrific. My whole family ate it for dessert and the feeling that we picked them ourselves was just great. We used a frozen pie crust. Perfect. You need a top, so we bought two and cut the other one apart to lay on top. It wasn't pretty, but MMmmm... Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      Love it, I'm from Ohio too and my mom made this when I was growing up many years ago.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      This was a great and easy recipe! I like to experiment on my co-workers and just recently discovered the wonderful treaure of elderberries in my back pasture. I made the pie and brought it in. A little while later I caught 4 people in the breakroom slurping up the juices with a spoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Elderberry Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 221.8
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    13%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 30.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 31.3 g
    125%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites