10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I started making these and then realized I was out of white flour, so I used all whole wheat flour in this. Since I know ww flour can dry a recipe out I cut it down to only 3 cups, it still turned out a tad on the stiff side, but the upside is that I did not have to chill the dough before rolling out. The nuttiness of the whole wheat flour really gave these a nice flavor and my husband and kids loved them! Next time I will use ww flour again but cut it down to 2 1/2 cups, so they turn out a softer. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DbKnadler January 02, 2012

Made these with our Girl Scout troop. Easy and fun!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eileen H. December 23, 2011

I made these for our office this year. Every one loved them!! I had requests to share the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ps15152000 December 22, 2010

We didn't have any problem making these cookies and they came out nice and tender and great flavored. When the flour is measured correctly like the recipe says, you can bet they can't be beat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen In The Kitchen! January 04, 2010

Thanks so much for the great recipe and the tips about spooning out the flour - my previous cut-out cookies were a bust and I believe now it was due to the flour issue - I can see how spooning like suggested would allow the flour to be at it's best.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Learnee December 16, 2009

I rolled these a little thinner then the cookies in the picture and they were delicious! I had lots of fun decorating them with frosting and Christmas jimmies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda's Pantry! December 18, 2008

Following Diva's advice I added finely grated orange peel to mine and they came out so delicious! We had so much fun making them and decorating them with glaze and holiday sprinkles! I rolled the dough out a little thinner and it worked fine for us. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BluEyedCookette December 14, 2008

We all thought these cookies were great!!! My DD's used Halloween cookie cutters and baked them, then decorated them with green, yellow and orange frosting, and then sprinkled with Halloween jimmies and crushed Halloween M&M's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookTillUDrop November 01, 2008

Add 1 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon or orange peel and 1 1/2 teaspoon lemon or orange extract to step 2 for delicious flavored cookies! I did let the dough chill before rolling to make them easier to work with. These cookies were a great addition to my cookie plates this year Linda! Arlene

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImACookingDiva January 02, 2008

These were not amazing sugar cookies, but they were still a good cookie! It is important to roll the dough thick so you can keep the cookie soft. also I realized AFTER i finished baking and cookie-cutting that it would have been much easier if i refrigerated the dough before cookie-cutting as it was very hard to work with when using cookie cutters but if you just want basic circular cookies than no refrigeration is needed, just spoon them onto the pan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twiggyshell December 18, 2007
Elaine's Holiday Cut out Sugar Cookies - Christmas