19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used Jiffy corn mix, added 1/4 cup honey and it was great. For those who said it was too moist, this is corncake it is supposed to be moist. Otherwise it would be cornbread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdyste_571480 January 26, 2013

My daughter was dying for me to make this for her, and she was so disappointed. She expected it to taste exactally like El Torito and it was close but no cigar. Back to the drawing board!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyMAMA September 01, 2009

My daughter is in Sweet Corn Cake Heaven! Hubby didn't really care for the texture, but my daughter thinks that just means more for her. lol She loves this stuff! My friend from California sent me the El Torito Mix a few times and she fell in love. Now I can make it for her more often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fronie July 31, 2009

I absolutely love this recipe... it tastes exactly like the sweet corn cake at Don Pablo's. The only modification I made to this recipe was that I added a little bit of sugar to the cornbread mixture. This is guaranteed to be a hit at any family gathering! Side note: I don't care for creamed corn, but I love this recipe... so don't let that stop you from making this! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
collcourtney19 December 27, 2008

I thought this was plenty sweet! Maybe people aren't using the right cornbread mix. I used Marie Callender's and it was fab. Just like El Torito. Thank you very much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moor Driver April 01, 2008

Delish folloewd it to the letter except I didnt have a loaf pan so I put it in my muffin pan and that was a great idea it gave it strudy enough edges to hold all the good gooey corn goodness inside as I could easily remove and serve them with my fingers. Will add honey or something to make it a tad bit sweeter. Great with spicy food. We had enchiladas black beans and rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bottomlesspit December 05, 2007

I tweaked this by adding 1/4 c. Sugar, 1/4 c. Cornmeal and about 2 T. Very finely chopped onion. I baked it for 50 minutes, the stirred it and baked for another 7 minutes because it was still too "wet". It trned out amazing and I am gong to make it again often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brandibaldwin_11607483 April 10, 2014

I made this for my family on Thanksgiving and we loved it. . Add a lil butter on top!! Yummy :)) I will be making this again soon.. already bought the ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmjimenez11 December 27, 2013

I would have given this recipe 5 stars if you could actually find the Sweet Corn Bread Mix. The small boxes at grocery stores do not contain much sugar. Add 1/4 cup of agave nectar, honey, sugar or other sweetener of choice. This recipe is a 5-star with the right amount of sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clund0858 May 09, 2013

i have bought the sweet corn cake mix from el torito. it is really good. this is the same thing. but how is this a recipe? i'm confused. it's like posting a recipe for yellow cake and you post "yellow cake mix, water, eggs, oil"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather d October 26, 2009
El Torito Sweet Corn Cake