Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / El Torito Sweet Corn Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    El Torito Sweet Corn Cake

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2013

      I used Jiffy corn mix, added 1/4 cup honey and it was great. For those who said it was too moist, this is corncake it is supposed to be moist. Otherwise it would be cornbread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      My daughter was dying for me to make this for her, and she was so disappointed. She expected it to taste exactally like El Torito and it was close but no cigar. Back to the drawing board!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      My daughter is in Sweet Corn Cake Heaven! Hubby didn't really care for the texture, but my daughter thinks that just means more for her. lol She loves this stuff! My friend from California sent me the El Torito Mix a few times and she fell in love. Now I can make it for her more often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I absolutely love this recipe... it tastes exactly like the sweet corn cake at Don Pablo's. The only modification I made to this recipe was that I added a little bit of sugar to the cornbread mixture. This is guaranteed to be a hit at any family gathering! Side note: I don't care for creamed corn, but I love this recipe... so don't let that stop you from making this! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      I thought this was plenty sweet! Maybe people aren't using the right cornbread mix. I used Marie Callender's and it was fab. Just like El Torito. Thank you very much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Delish folloewd it to the letter except I didnt have a loaf pan so I put it in my muffin pan and that was a great idea it gave it strudy enough edges to hold all the good gooey corn goodness inside as I could easily remove and serve them with my fingers. Will add honey or something to make it a tad bit sweeter. Great with spicy food. We had enchiladas black beans and rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2014

      I tweaked this by adding 1/4 c. Sugar, 1/4 c. Cornmeal and about 2 T. Very finely chopped onion. I baked it for 50 minutes, the stirred it and baked for another 7 minutes because it was still too "wet". It trned out amazing and I am gong to make it again often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      I made this for my family on Thanksgiving and we loved it. . Add a lil butter on top!! Yummy :)) I will be making this again soon.. already bought the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      I would have given this recipe 5 stars if you could actually find the Sweet Corn Bread Mix. The small boxes at grocery stores do not contain much sugar. Add 1/4 cup of agave nectar, honey, sugar or other sweetener of choice. This recipe is a 5-star with the right amount of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      i have bought the sweet corn cake mix from el torito. it is really good. this is the same thing. but how is this a recipe? i'm confused. it's like posting a recipe for yellow cake and you post "yellow cake mix, water, eggs, oil"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      My family liked this, except they wanted a bit of honey on it. I used a Jiffy box mix. I will make it again but will try adding maybe 1/4 cup of honey before baking and see how they like that. It was tasty - just seemed to need a little oomph. Even a dash of salt might do the trick. I had to bake it longer too. It sure was fast to throw together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      it wasn't sweet enough! i will add sugar next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      This was really good, but a little too moist for our taste. I will make this again, but I'll play around with the amount of butter and water. The flavor is excellent, though! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      This was great! Will make often, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      Holy freakin cow! I could probably live on this stuff for years it's so good. Works very well with chili. -d

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      This was simple to make and tasted wonderful. I have never been to El Torito, but this did taste a lot like what Chi Chi's used to serve. The texture was nice and moist. It was a nice accompaniment to the chili we had. The only thing I did differently was to bake it in an 8-inch square pan. It still took about 45 minutes to bake, though. Thanks for the great recipe! I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      DH & I enjoyed this as a side with enchildas and rice. We used to get something very similar at ChiChi's restaurants, but those restaurants went out of business & I never knew exactly how they made the sweet corn cake. I'll definitely be using this recipe again- thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      Since moving from CA I missed the sweet cake from El Torito. Both DH and I liked this. Not as sweet as I expected, but I am sure its because I just used corn bread mix (Jiffy) But the consistancy is exactly like El Torito's. Will make again! Thanks so much for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      So easy! Tastes great but you have to like sweet. Top with crushed black pepper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for El Torito Sweet Corn Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.4
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    41%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 15.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 420.0 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites