Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / El Torito Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    El Torito Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2009

      I used to work for El Torito for 2 & 1/2 years and ate this soup most of my shifts. I made this recipe and it was EXACTLY the same! I was amazed! I like to add just a dallop of sour cream to my bowl. It's delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      I moved back to Upstate NY back in 1999 and I have missed El Torito's chicken tortilla soup. It's so hard to get AUTHENTIC mexican food in Ithaca these days. When I lived in Torrance, CA with my grandpa we would go out to dinner at least 4 times a week and El Torito was one of our regular spots along with Spires, Marie Calendars, Soup Plantation and twice a month on Saturdays we would drive down to San Diego to eat at the Old San Diego Mexican Cantina. Now I'm going to get what I need and make this and finally be happy. THANK YOU!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      Great recipe. Everyone in my house enjoyed the heck out of this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      Followed the recipe but was unable to find chipotle chiles in adobe, used chipotle souse

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      Loved it so much and so did my kids. Wanted a recipe w lots of veggies and this delivered. My kids gobbled it up (although I added sour cream to theirs).
      Here are my mods: 1 quart less stock, added half a poblano, used a fresh jalapeno, and extra chipotle (maybe 3/4 teaspoon instead of 1/4), also used sweet potato instead of regular potato. It is my new favorite soup (kids too)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      This is a delicious soup recipe with a lots of versitility. At the Pasadena El Torito Restaurant on Foothill Blvd, they have been serving this soup as one of the items at their lunchon buffet. They make up a large pot of the soup with just the basic veggie items, then serve the other items such as shredded chicken, cilantro, mint, etc. as garnishes. And there are lots of them. I love their buffet idea and plan to use it at my next party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Very tasty! Even my son who hates vegetables rated this 5 stars! I used a little more chipotle chile instead of jalapeno and omitted the sherry. Leftovers will be even better. Thanks for the tasty recepie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      This was magnificent! I made fairly close to directions, but forgot to buy fresh mint & cilantro, so had to use dried cilantro. I also had to use cheddar cheese. The end result was a wonderfully fresh flavour & I can't wait for lunch tomorrow to have the leftovers. Thanks Teddy's Mommy for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for El Torito Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (558 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.2
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    39%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 44.2 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1399.4 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 23.0 g
    46%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    avocados

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes