24 Reviews

Info from someone who works at EPL, one of their "secret" ingredients is pineapple juice. Hope this helps.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lyss8 June 14, 2012

El Pollo Loco has Lime in it somewhere

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
subarucher September 16, 2010

I love El Pollo Loco chicken and is one of the things I miss most now that I live in the Midwest. I have tried this recipe and although it is VERY good, it is not the true marinade recipe for El Pollo Loco. I give it 3 stars because it does add good flavor to the chicken, but it is mislabled as El Pollo Loco.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelnmoki September 11, 2009

No stars for this recipe. It was very bad, and the best description for this is that it tasted like chicken marinated in ketchup. Definitely not Pollo Loco, not nothing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
claudia2891 May 05, 2013

this might be good but it's not THE el pollo loco copycat...the real one is very simple, like salt water and yellow food coloring....i miss el pollo loco!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tbreese823 April 03, 2011

I made this for dinner last night. The marinade was just wonderful. It made the chicken so tender and flavorful! My husband had 2 helpings and said it was better than el pollo loco.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dsunflower64 June 05, 2009

This recipe isn't even close, using a tomato base is the wrong direction

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patpierson July 18, 2008

I eat as much chicken as possible, especially baked or grilled. That being said I think its fair enough to say I've had my share of El Pollo Loco, and unfortunately this recipe did NOT taste very much like it. The sauce seemed very "tomato-ey" when I was expecting the the citrus taste the El pollo loco brings to the table.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whitetiger5 October 15, 2007

It was raining so I didn't grill this. I ended up dicing the chicken breast up and cooking it in a sauce pan. We made chicken empanadas stuffed with this and ate it in chicken tacos - so delicious. Can't wait for a sunny day to try it on the grill. Everyone at the party, even the picky eaters, liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JSunnyGirl September 02, 2007

I thought with all the great reviews its gotta be good but for me it was too bland. It needed salt and spice. I let it marinate for 18 hours and I couldnt taste any of the items mentioned in the recipe. I did however like the avocado chili sauce that pollo loco makes. That tasted exactly like theirs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sosiboys September 02, 2007
El Pollo Loco Chicken (Copycat Recipe)