Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / El Pollo Loco Chicken (Copycat Recipe)
    Lost? Site Map

    El Pollo Loco Chicken (Copycat Recipe)

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2012

      Info from someone who works at EPL, one of their "secret" ingredients is pineapple juice. Hope this helps.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      El Pollo Loco has Lime in it somewhere

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      I love El Pollo Loco chicken and is one of the things I miss most now that I live in the Midwest. I have tried this recipe and although it is VERY good, it is not the true marinade recipe for El Pollo Loco. I give it 3 stars because it does add good flavor to the chicken, but it is mislabled as El Pollo Loco.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      No stars for this recipe. It was very bad, and the best description for this is that it tasted like chicken marinated in ketchup. Definitely not Pollo Loco, not nothing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      this might be good but it's not THE el pollo loco copycat...the real one is very simple, like salt water and yellow food coloring....i miss el pollo loco!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      I made this for dinner last night. The marinade was just wonderful. It made the chicken so tender and flavorful! My husband had 2 helpings and said it was better than el pollo loco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      This recipe isn't even close, using a tomato base is the wrong direction

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      I eat as much chicken as possible, especially baked or grilled. That being said I think its fair enough to say I've had my share of El Pollo Loco, and unfortunately this recipe did NOT taste very much like it. The sauce seemed very "tomato-ey" when I was expecting the the citrus taste the El pollo loco brings to the table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      It was raining so I didn't grill this. I ended up dicing the chicken breast up and cooking it in a sauce pan. We made chicken empanadas stuffed with this and ate it in chicken tacos - so delicious. Can't wait for a sunny day to try it on the grill. Everyone at the party, even the picky eaters, liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      I thought with all the great reviews its gotta be good but for me it was too bland. It needed salt and spice. I let it marinate for 18 hours and I couldnt taste any of the items mentioned in the recipe. I did however like the avocado chili sauce that pollo loco makes. That tasted exactly like theirs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      This is got to be about the best marinate we have ever had. I give this recipe 100 stars. I served this tonight, with Spanish rice and green beans, Thank you for sharing, I will be making this again. Denise

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      I turned this into a company dish by marinating a butterflied whole chicken and cooking it on the grill outside. It made a delicious and impressive presentation. I didn't tell the boss and her husband that it was El Pollo Loco. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Wonderful!Perfect! I marinated for 24hrs and made 10 pounds of chicken! Never heard of El Pollo Loco but this was great. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      This is awesome, loved it. We too love el pollo loco but the restaurant is quite a drive from our house. thanks :) I too am from the UP, Ishpeming actually so I know the pain of living in the UP with no el pollo locos Thanks again Christine :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      I don't think it tastes like El Pollo Loco, but I LOVE IT!! The first batch I made on a stovetop grill, it made an incredibly smoky mess. The second time, I cooked it in the oven on a rack over a baking sheet at 400 degrees. Perfectly browned skin and tender meat, and no smoke!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      I'm really glad I tried this recipe. I marinated the chicken for about 8 hours and cooked them on my stovetop grill pan.It would make a very nice casual company dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      Very, very good! The fragrance while grilling was just incredible! We love Pollo Loco chicken but something in it bothers my DH's allergies, so we don't ever eat there anymore. Now we can eat this and it doesn't bother him! Who knows if it is their exact recipe, but we don't care! We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      Kathie: 5 bright stars for this one! Only addtion to the marinade was 1 tablespoon of Tone's Chipotle Seasoning. Allowed them to marinade for about 8 hours and the results were magnificent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      Very good chicken with lots of flavor. Followed the recipe as written. Marinated for 24hrs. using boneless chicken thighs. Dh asked that I make this again. Thank you Katie in the UP.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      This was an awsome recipe. I used a 1/4 cup lemon juice and a 1/4 cup orange juice instead of the fresh. The kids really loved it. In fact I am making it the second time in one week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for El Pollo Loco Chicken (Copycat Recipe)

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 390.7
     
    Calories from Fat 184
    47%
    Total Fat 20.4 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 791.5 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    39%
    Protein 31.9 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes