Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / El Charro Cafe Green Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    El Charro Cafe Green Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2011

      Fabulous enchilada sauce! I used Cubanelle peppers because that's the only kind my grocer had in stock and they were not too hot, smokey & delish. I had a little bit of a hard time roasting & peeling because the directions I had were off (they called for 5 minutes and they needed more like 10). Will definitely use again, made a sauce that blows the canned stuff out of the water, thanks Miss Annie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Fantastic! I made a green chilie, chicken enchilada casserole...spread a little of the enchilada sauce in bottom of 9 x 13 lasagna pan, dipped corn tortillas in the sauce and layered with shredded chicken, fresh minced onions, cheese...another layer of tortillas dipped in sauce, etc...covered and baked for 30 minutes...delicious. Better than 5 stars. Served with Mexican rice and refried beans...topped enchiladas with a dollop of sour cream and drizzled with more enchilada sauce....wow! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Yummy enchilada sauce. I used pepper I had roasted, peeled, and froze from summer. This is an easy recipe that is delicious. Something I would make again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      I used this recipe with Enchilasana # 310858 today at a church potluck. It has just the right spice. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Four large Anaheim peppers equaled exactly one pound, but after roasting and chopping amounted to only one cup. So I settled for a half-batch of sauce. I added the garlic before the flour, and since I was using canned chicken broth, cut the salt way back. Anyway, this is THE perfect green sauce for me, with a nice consistency and mild zing. I'll use it to make my daughter's favorite Speedy Cheese and Chicken Enchiladas. But next time I MUST REMEMBER to buy eight (two pounds) Anaheim peppers. Now, I'm just waiting for them to go on sale!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Made this a day ahead and then used it for Enchiladas Suiza. Made quick work of dinner. This recipe is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      A good recipe actually. Feel free to use a mixture of your green chilis as well. Pasillas work great in combination of your "green chilis," anahiems, and even poblanos for a milder sauce. The more you roast them, the sweeter they will get. You can also leave the sauce chunky instead of blending it as well. You'll never need canned again. (you wont miss the msg!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      This is an fantastic sauce. I made it last September when I didn't know what to do with a whole bunch of peppers I was given. I froze it, and just used it last night on some chicken enchiladas. It has great flavor, and if I get more peppers this year, I know extactly what to do with them!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      I made this tonight and loved it. However, my chiles did not yield 4 chiles for 2 cups, so I had to sub some canned green chiles. It was a little too thick for my liking so I added another cup of water. I decided to make a pork chili since I had leftover roast pork to use up. I ended up making green pork chili with it, to which I added chopped tomatoes, leftover cubed pork loin, leftover salsa, a can of black beans and pinto beans, drained. Lots of cumin and oregano, and a bunch of chopped cilantro. Delish! I dolloped a big dollop of sour cream and served it with tortilla chips. YUM! Great green sauce. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      One word, AWESOME! I have always hated canned enchilada sauce. I found a recipe for red enchilada sauce on this site, but this far surpasses that recipe. I believe I have met my new favorite enchilada sauce! Thanks for the delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      Recipe easy to follow and tastes great on Creamy Chicken Enchiladas. Not having anaheim chiles on hand, I substituted 2 cups fire roasted green chiles, then added about 1/4 tsp cayenne for a little zip. Thanks for sharing this recipe--I was making the recipe above and could not use the canned enchilada sauce in our local grocers because they all used MSG or additives that I cannot eat. This recipe was a life saver!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      great recipe, also great with pork meat added.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for El Charro Cafe Green Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (891 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 208.5
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    48%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 4.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 818.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites