Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egyptian Sweet Couscous Dessert Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egyptian Sweet Couscous Dessert

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2010

      Due to some ingredient availability constraints, I was not able to make this exactly as written, but it was awesome nonetheless! I used a black cherry/concord grape blend for the 2 cups of juice; I used freshly ground almonds and pecans; and since I couldn't find the candied almonds I soaked some whole almonds in water for a couple of hours and then dredged them in a mixture of powdered sugar and cinnamon. No pomegranates available, so I used raspberries instead. It was awesome, especially while it was still warm. I can hardly wait to make this again. I'll have to invent an occasion as an excuse to do this again! Thanks for posting Elmotoo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      I was enticed to make this dish by the posted photo using strawberries, which I used as well. This was a fast and delicious dessert. I always feel a little better about giving the kids sweets when they lean toward the healthy side like this. This is something I would be pleased to serve guests. Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      This was a wonderful change from ordinary couscous. I substituted strawberries for pomegranate seeds. Since I was using strawberries I used strawberry-banana juice for my fruit juice. Instead of pistachio & almonds I used walnuts. A very good recipe, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      I really liked this recipe. I had never had couscous before I made it. I used it for a class project on Egypt and everyone who tried it loved it. I made two batches when I made it and I think I used Apple Juice with one and Pomegranate Juice with other, so that the people who tried it had a flavor option.:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      This was delicious. We all loved it. It was a little on the sweet side for me, not the kids of course but that goes with the region, and is very easily adjusted. I found some whole wheat couscous which I used for this dish. The pomegranate was not in season so I tore up some raspberries that I had, It turned out great. This is quick and very easy to make and we'll surely be having this again. Thank you for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      Made for PAC, Spring 07 ~ What an unusual experience making this UNUSUAL & tasty dessert! This was the first time I made my own rose water [& will be looking for other recipes which include it as an ingredient]! The pomegranate seeds would have made it even more special, & I'll use them when I make this another time! This is very much a 'rave' dessert, & I can attest when I allowed some neighbors to taste it! Thanks much for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      Awesome! I used pomegranate juice and raspberries and gluten free rice couscous. For the candied almonds I caramelized some blanched almonds with honey in a skillet. DH and I absolutely loved it, and I'm particularly thrilled how easy this is to make. This will be a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing :)
      Made for Visit Egypt / N*A*M*E Forum May 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Another incarnation and opportunity for me to enjoy coucous. I made a tiny batch for two and the results were downright scrumptious. As presented this was a wee bit sweet for me so I cut the amount a bit and used Splenda to cut the calories a bit. Similarly I used light butter. These are fairly typical substitutions for me and ones for which my palatte is accustomed. I really enjoyed the way the flavors of the nuts, fruit and rose water came together. For the fruit juice I used a combination of pomegranate and guava. (The guava juice said manufactured in Egypt so I thought it would work.) After much searching, I gave up on finding pomegranate seeds and in consultation with the posting chef used diced dried cherries soaked overnight in pomegranate juice. They were delicious but not especially attractive so I eventually mixed them right into the couscous befor serving. Thanks Elmotoo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Oop's, I made this a couple of days ago, got involved with a movie and forgot about reviewing it. This worked out perfectly as I had ask DH to grab a few pieces of fruit at the store and he brought home 2 pomegranate's! I did have to skip the candied almonds because I don't have any so I just used a few almond slices. It all came out purely delightful and much enjoyed. Made for North Africa/Middle East Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egyptian Sweet Couscous Dessert

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.3
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    37%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 5.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 12.4 g
    49%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fruit juice

    rose water

    candy-covered almonds

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites