Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egyptian Style Stuffed Cabbage Leaves (Mashy Crump) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egyptian Style Stuffed Cabbage Leaves (Mashy Crump)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2009

      Thank you very much for such a detailed way to prepare these, I was lacking a few spices and slight alterations here and there, but they still came out very good and am going to add this to my dinner menu's from now on. I also tried the method( safa suggested, thank you too!) for when when boiling the cabbage and found it was working well. This is the first time I've made these, but I'll be using this recipe again and again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      This is exactly how I make it....here's something that I do that might help you with boiling the cabbage....I have one of those big forks...u know the kind that you are supposed to hold a roast beef with? Well...after I cut out all of the stem...I push the fork in there to help me hold it while I am peeling off the leaves. It makes it easier to handle...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Great recipe. I cook mine in spicy Clamato juice and I do add 1/2 cup of thinly chopped parsley.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Another Masterpiece by Cooking in Cairo! This dish was awesome! I've been making my way through all your recipes and they are all excellent. This was better than any crump I had in Egypt or anywhere in fact :) Everything worked out perfectly - it was my first time making mashy and your filling is fantastic. I made warac einab (stuffed grape leaves) with the same filling as well. Please Please keep writing more authentic egyptian recipes!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      wow its my very first time to see an american cooks a traditional food :D well done dear and sure nice way to serve it, you made me sign in to rate

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      This is wonderful and all who have tried love it. Time consuming though, it is! I add a little uncooked ground beef usually, use Emirati Style Yellow Chicken Stock, I sometimes add dill (it is good without too) & use fresh or dried mint (dried works fine). No need to add the freshly squeezed lemon juice as I have left it out numerous times since it doesn't mention when to add it. I always wrap the leaves to enclose the stuffing rather than leave the ends open and make each layer of stuffed leaves laying in the opposite direction to the previous. I stick a large fork in the cabbage base and use a smaller one when removing the leaves and it helps a lot. I love how this recipe is written. I serve them with Impressive Mashed Potatoes or with just lemon and salted Balkan yogurt. The leftover centre part should be used in Spicy, Simple Cabbage Salad. I will make these more often insha Allah. Updated for WELCOME TO EGYPT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      My Egyptian friend makes these cabbage leaves but she is an expert and never measures the ingredients. Thank you for the detailed recipe and I could finally make this food. They were delicious and eaten quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      Wow! This is the first time I have managed to find a step-by-step recipe for Mashi Corrumb. It is a very popular dish with my family particularly in winter, but it is so time-consuming and not all authentic recipes are as easy as this! I believe it is the spices and the bouillon cube that make the difference, although everyone tells me it is the dill! Thank you cooking in Cairo for such an authentic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egyptian Style Stuffed Cabbage Leaves (Mashy Crump)

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.5
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    61%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1659.2 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh dill weed

    Arabic spices

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites