Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egyptian Spinach Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egyptian Spinach Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2009

      Absolutely awesome! The flavours are so warm and comforting. I made as directed except I left the baby spinach whole. This will be enjoyed many more times. Thank you Chef Kate for sharing this really yummy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Superb! What a fabulous flavour from simple ingredients. Loved by all and will be making regularly. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      Glad I found this recipe. I needed something to round out a selection of nibbles (pita, hummus, babaganouj) into a meal. This did the job nicely. Will definitely make again, but will try curry powder instead of the turmeric to give it a bit more zip. Oh, my!! Made it a second time using curry powder. Also used greek style yogurt, which made it creamier (and probably less susceptible to separating). It was soooo good. Got DH's coveted "you need to make this again sometime" review. We had samosas with it this time. Took the soup'n'sammich dinner to a whole new level.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      This really hit the spot! I used frozen, thawed, squeezed spinach & it worked vey well. of course I screwed it up & the yogurt curdled but it was still very tasty. I'd double the garlic & scallions next time. Thanks, Kate!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      I tripled the garlic and added 1/4 tsp of coriander and 1/4 tsp of ginger. I don't like cooked scallions so I added them to the soup when it was off the burner,so they could keep their crispiness.Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      What a wonderful soup! The kids liked it because it was close to spinach pie in a bowl, and we (adults) loved the added dimension that the yogurt added. This will become a regular dish at our house, and also one that will come out for dinner parties too. Thanks for the post, Chef Kate.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      Mmmmmm! The soup has a nice tang to it, no doubt because the local yogurt I use is very acidic. First, added 1/2 teaspoon of turmeric and sauteed the rice with the onion. I slowly poured the yogurt into the pot using a whisk to stir. I also added the green onions the very last minute. Added a dash of my homemade curry powder. Thank you for sharing this. I hope there are leftovers tomorrow so I can try this chilled.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      Great lunch soup that is light to boot! Used a scant 1 ts of curry powder instead of turmeric and fat-free plain yogurt. I really like the raw garlic added in the end! Yumm! Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      Good stuff. I had this hot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2006

      It was Chef Kate day for lunch. I made this terrific soup and your Gratin of Oranges Gratin of Oranges. A wonderful light meal with heavenly flavors. I used the vegetable stock I had on hand and frozen spinach, but otherwise followed the recipe. The soup has a nice tang from the yogurt, but isn't overpoweringly tart. I served this hot and am eager to try the leftovers cold today. I topped my serving with lots of fresh cracked pepper. This is a keeper! Thank you Kate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      Great mildly flavored soup. Loved the tang from the yogurt. I prefer lots of seasoning so I added some ground coriander, cumin, doubled both onions and tripled the garlic. Next time I will use even more garlic! I ate it hot and have not tried it cold. Really yummy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      This is a very healthy soup that just happens to be quite tasty, too! AND it's easy to make; I feel confident I'll be doing so often in the future. For anyone who's wondering, cutting the spinach into chiffonade means cutting it into narrow strips (I learned this from Rita L).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      A delicious and fairly quick to make soup – it was really tasty both warm and cold – which I’ll be making to take to work lunches a lot during the summer. This would be just so refreshing – and sustaining – on a hot day! I followed the recipe exactly, well almost. I doubled the garlic, and sautéed it with the onions, and because I didn’t know what cutting the spinach “into chiffonade” meant (and with the cooking frenzy of the World Tour, this just wasn’t the time to find out!) I simply skipped that instruction. I can learn what that means at some later stage. I used two packets of well-thawed and thoroughly squeeze-dried frozen spinach, and two handfuls of baby spinach leaves, and neither really needed chopping anyway. I used my Vegetable Stock Vegetable Stock (which I’m tending to use for all recipes requiring stock), and creamy Greek yoghurt. Next time, I think I’ll add some cumin and some chopped pine nuts. A fabulous recipe, Kate, which I’m so pleased to have found! Thank you for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Wonderful flavours! I made this to take along for my dinner at work tonight but couldn't resist tasting it first and was very pleased. I used fat free yogurt and fresh baby spinach. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      This is very good! Even better the next day warmed up. It's winter here but I tried a spoon of the shorba (soup in Arabic) from the fridge and it is good that way as well! I think I didn't use as much spinach as called for. I used mostly baby spinach and some frozen, unrefined extra virgin olive oil, a bit more cooking onion, homemade chicken stock, sea salt, freshly ground black pepper (lots), Balkan (thick) yogurt which made it nice and creamy, plus the rest. I may make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egyptian Spinach Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (357 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.2
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    34%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 15.4 mg
    5%
    Sodium 329.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites