Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egyptian Red Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egyptian Red Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2010

      This was excellent, I just got done with my second bowl and I'm full but I want to keep eating! I made a few changes, I sauteed the onion and garlic before adding the vegetable broth (i also chopped the garlic). I did what others said and added another teaspoon of Cumin. I added a little more potato which I mashed by hand inside the pot (no need to puree) The result was very thick soup just how I like it - adding a little more cilantro won't hurt either. This was my first experience with red lentils and I must say that I'm impressed - thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Great - don't skip toasting the spices - you could tell from the smell in my kitchen that this made all the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      Excellent soup! I didn't have tumeric and added 2 1/2 teaspoons cumin instead. It could have used 3 teaspoons cumin and all of the tumeric as far as I was concerned. I kept the garlic cloves whole and added 1 can diced tomatoes and some carrots to get some vitamins A and C in there. Omitted the cilantro as it was expensive and not my BF's favorite herb either. Looking forward to eating the leftovers for lunch. Thanks a bunch for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      This recipe is delicious and took much less prep time than noted - very easy to make. I followed other's recommendations and sauted the onions and garlic, and added some celery and carrots and sauted those too. I did go out and buy the tumeric - so many recipes call for it, it is worth having in your cupboard. Very flavorful and filling. I might add some chicken next time and call it a meal. Will definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      An excellent soup that I made just now for a quick lunch. I added a green chilli and left my soup chunky and I served it with natural yoghurt spponed over each serve.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2014

      Awesomeness! Perfect vegetarian soup! Very filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2014

      Delicious, simple and healthy! The only change I made was to saute the onion and garlic a bit before adding the broth. Cooking the spices and adding the lemon made this recipe really special. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2014

      I made this recipe for the first time yesterday. Lovely, filling soup. Lucky enough to have a pressure cooker for the first five ingredients (added one large chopped carrot as well/ broth made with my own vegetable concentrate), cooked for 6 minutes in the pressure cooker but I did brown the onions and garlic first as suggested.<br/>All in all a wonderful result and liked by all the family. A favourite lentil/vegetarian recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2014

    • on March 06, 2014

      This was soo delicious. I used sweet onion and red pepper flakes for contrast. My husband loved it too. Plan to make it weekly and pack for lunch. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      nice taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      Even my picky boys loved this one. I used red lentils, but the soup was green (maybe the cilantro?). I think I'd add red peppers next time and cook them down. Really a lovely soup for a winter day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      I just happen to have most of these ingredients at home and was trying to use them all before they go bad. I didnt have veg. broth or lemon, so I used water and fresh lime. I also added carrots to the mix to add some extra veggies. This dish is versatile enough to be able to add other veggies to it as well, such as kale. The prep time was quick and the recipe was so easy. My son ate three bowls of this tummy filling soup! Thanks for the post. I will make this soup for my next pot luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      OMG! This soup was wonderful! I did sautee the onions and garlic in butter instead of oil, and added a little cayenne to spice it up a little, and the potatoes that I used were Red White and Blues, so it changed the color a bit but the flavor is AMAZING!!! I highly recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      seriously wonderful soup! I used chicken broth, swapped sweet potatoes for the white (and will totally do it again), added two chopped carrots and swapped a half of large lime for the lemon. I also carmelized the onions first in a little oil. Ground fresh cumin and that was so good. I'm getting an immersion blender just so I can make this soup again and again -without my wonky blender. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      Very different and tasty! I didn't have turmeric on hand so I omitted it. I must admit I was a little hesitant about adding the lemon juice, so I had a taste before adding it. I could tell it was missing something. I added the lemon juice and POW; it really makes the soup take off. Also, I found like others that the prep time was far less than suggested. Only time consuming part was chopping all that cilantro! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      Didn't change a thing and this was a superb soup. Everyone loved it on a dismal, rainy September day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      This soup is a good recipe, but I felt like it was lacking something. So I added in a can of diced tomatoes per one of the suggestions below, and it tasted much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      Delicious, easy and tweak-able--what's not to like? It took only a few minutes to toss the ingredients in the pot, and only a few more to toast the spices. Use *all* the garlic recommended, it really wasn't too much. I had no cilantro, as I'm one of the unlucky folks who think it tastes like soap, but I had everything else, and it was a tasty, filling and all-round delicious soup. I served it with toasty warn multi-grain loaf and a half-decent cabernet. I put a shaving of reggiano on top and dined like a queen. I left out the salt and nobody missed it. A recipe I will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      I made the recipe exactly as written - salt, I am cutting back on salt in my diet, this is one of a very few recipes that I've tried that are excellent without the salt, easy to make and very flavorful. My first lentil dish i hope more turn out this way

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egyptian Red Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 204.4
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    13%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 397.0 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 12.0 g
    48%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites