58 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was excellent, I just got done with my second bowl and I'm full but I want to keep eating! I made a few changes, I sauteed the onion and garlic before adding the vegetable broth (i also chopped the garlic). I did what others said and added another teaspoon of Cumin. I added a little more potato which I mashed by hand inside the pot (no need to puree) The result was very thick soup just how I like it - adding a little more cilantro won't hurt either. This was my first experience with red lentils and I must say that I'm impressed - thanks for posting

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef metal January 19, 2010

Great - don't skip toasting the spices - you could tell from the smell in my kitchen that this made all the difference.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdod13 March 17, 2011

Excellent soup! I didn't have tumeric and added 2 1/2 teaspoons cumin instead. It could have used 3 teaspoons cumin and all of the tumeric as far as I was concerned. I kept the garlic cloves whole and added 1 can diced tomatoes and some carrots to get some vitamins A and C in there. Omitted the cilantro as it was expensive and not my BF's favorite herb either. Looking forward to eating the leftovers for lunch. Thanks a bunch for posting :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend September 14, 2011

This recipe is delicious and took much less prep time than noted - very easy to make. I followed other's recommendations and sauted the onions and garlic, and added some celery and carrots and sauted those too. I did go out and buy the tumeric - so many recipes call for it, it is worth having in your cupboard. Very flavorful and filling. I might add some chicken next time and call it a meal. Will definitely make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KIEJ March 08, 2011

An excellent soup that I made just now for a quick lunch. I added a green chilli and left my soup chunky and I served it with natural yoghurt spponed over each serve.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS March 08, 2008

This was ok but I found it a little bland. I added a lot of liquid chile. I think this may be better with green lentils. I find red lentils too bland and they just kind of disappear in the dish with no flavour added. But keep posting NurseDi as most of your recipes are terrific.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo March 29, 2007

This soup is awesome!! Can't wait to make another pot and it will be a regular with us. Recipe & directions were so easy to follow.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hudakore December 26, 2006

Ok, so I read a lot of the reviews and decided to add many of the other suggested ingredients! Two carrots diced, 2 stalks celery diced, 2 potatoes, 1 sweet potato, 16 oz tomatoes, along with everything else in the recipe! Definitely saute the onions, minced garlic, carrots and celery before adding to soup. The tumeric makes it and rounds out the flavors. It was fantastic- I did double it and it was the perfect soup for a cold, rainy day. My husband loved it and we have more for another winter day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goingwithin January 14, 2015

This soup was wonderful! I made it exactly as written but doubled it and we all loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwenieg147 October 01, 2014

Awesomeness! Perfect vegetarian soup! Very filling!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kye84 June 28, 2014
Egyptian Red Lentil Soup