66 Reviews

This was excellent, I just got done with my second bowl and I'm full but I want to keep eating! I made a few changes, I sauteed the onion and garlic before adding the vegetable broth (i also chopped the garlic). I did what others said and added another teaspoon of Cumin. I added a little more potato which I mashed by hand inside the pot (no need to puree) The result was very thick soup just how I like it - adding a little more cilantro won't hurt either. This was my first experience with red lentils and I must say that I'm impressed - thanks for posting

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef metal January 19, 2010

Great - don't skip toasting the spices - you could tell from the smell in my kitchen that this made all the difference.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdod13 March 17, 2011

I made this recipe for the first time yesterday. Lovely, filling soup. Lucky enough to have a pressure cooker for the first five ingredients (added one large chopped carrot as well/ broth made with my own vegetable concentrate), cooked for 6 minutes in the pressure cooker but I did brown the onions and garlic first as suggested.<br/>All in all a wonderful result and liked by all the family. A favourite lentil/vegetarian recipe from now on!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin F. May 13, 2014

Excellent soup! I didn't have tumeric and added 2 1/2 teaspoons cumin instead. It could have used 3 teaspoons cumin and all of the tumeric as far as I was concerned. I kept the garlic cloves whole and added 1 can diced tomatoes and some carrots to get some vitamins A and C in there. Omitted the cilantro as it was expensive and not my BF's favorite herb either. Looking forward to eating the leftovers for lunch. Thanks a bunch for posting :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend September 14, 2011

I'm not sure what the commotion is about this soup. I was planning dinner and went to my trusty and true Spiced Egyptian Prawn recipe. In that recipe, Food.com said this soup was its #1 rated Egyptian recipe. (I try to make Egyptian food every so often because my husband is Egyptian - and, frankly, it's tasty). So I thought, why not? I made this soup to serve before the prawns. I looked at the reviews, sautéed the garlic and onions before adding the other ingredients and used a tablespoon of cumin. I also used 5 cups of vegetable broth for better flavor. The end result was BLAND. I was annoyed so I added more cumin, a bit of ginger, red pepper flakes, a touch of hot sauce and pepper. I threw it all back into the food processor and it was better - not great - but passable. It's only 2 pm, so we'll see how the flavors meld before dinnertime but this recipe is a disappointment. In my opinion, a recipe should be good as written without multiple tweaks. P.S. Try the Egyptian Spiced Prawns - easy, wonderful as written and authentic. They are flavorful, not spicy. My 5 year old and 3 year old eat them and my Egyptian husband devours them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lila and Nora's Mom October 16, 2015

Ok, so I read a lot of the reviews and decided to add many of the other suggested ingredients! Two carrots diced, 2 stalks celery diced, 2 potatoes, 1 sweet potato, 16 oz tomatoes, along with everything else in the recipe! Definitely saute the onions, minced garlic, carrots and celery before adding to soup. The tumeric makes it and rounds out the flavors. It was fantastic- I did double it and it was the perfect soup for a cold, rainy day. My husband loved it and we have more for another winter day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goingwithin January 13, 2015

Even my picky boys loved this one. I used red lentils, but the soup was green (maybe the cilantro?). I think I'd add red peppers next time and cook them down. Really a lovely soup for a winter day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SuzyQ January 19, 2014

This recipe is delicious and took much less prep time than noted - very easy to make. I followed other's recommendations and sauted the onions and garlic, and added some celery and carrots and sauted those too. I did go out and buy the tumeric - so many recipes call for it, it is worth having in your cupboard. Very flavorful and filling. I might add some chicken next time and call it a meal. Will definitely make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KIEJ March 08, 2011

An excellent soup that I made just now for a quick lunch. I added a green chilli and left my soup chunky and I served it with natural yoghurt spponed over each serve.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS March 08, 2008

This was ok but I found it a little bland. I added a lot of liquid chile. I think this may be better with green lentils. I find red lentils too bland and they just kind of disappear in the dish with no flavour added. But keep posting NurseDi as most of your recipes are terrific.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo March 29, 2007
Egyptian Red Lentil Soup