9 Reviews

This recipe turned out really well. The spices combine nicely and the bechamel gives the dish just the right amount of richness. I did change a few things when making the bechamel, though. I used 5tbs of butter and only 4 cups of milk. It came out nice and thick. I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maggie2001 September 09, 2011

This was my first attempt and it turned out good. I made this for dinner today and my family loved it. I made bechamel sauce with the Maggi Bechamel sauce powder. I had some grated cheddar cheese and mozarella cheese. So, I lighty sprinkled then on the pasta and it tasted yummy. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
safaharris April 05, 2011

This was the first time that I ATTEMPTED to make this with a success. I didnt have nutmeg for the bechamel, the way my mother always makes it, so i took a sprig of sage and just left it in the bechamel & took it out when it was finished cooking. I thank you, as an american egyptian with lack of heritage cooking, I was able to impress my husband, lol.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BusyMamaof3 February 11, 2010

Wonderful recipe!! It turned out very delicious. I made this for lunch today..and an hour later it's all gone. I did everything as the recipe said except for the tomato sauce-I doubled that. It turned out moist and flavorful..I was actually surprised how much flavor it had. I used 2% milk this time but I imagine it would be even better with whole milk. It is a great recipe for the winter months very warming and such a comfort food. Thanks UmmIbrahim.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leah's Kitchen January 20, 2010

Jazak Allah khair for sharing this delicious recipe. My taste buds thought they were back in Mansoura. I made this as written, however i used only 4 cups of whole milk and it was plenty of sauce. I do not recommend any changes to this recipe (besides the amount of milk) or else you'll alter the taste, and it is perfect as is. This is truely authentic Egyptian macarona bechamel. Thank you Umm Ibrahim for sharing this delicious delight :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous August 31, 2015

We really loved this! I cut down on the nutmeg and cinnamon after reading other reviewers comments. I also used quite a bit of Parmesan cheese to help thicken up the sauce. This is one dish I will make on a regular basis. Great with rigatoni too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miltt June 24, 2010

I thought I had penne, but macaroni worked in a pinch. Besides that, I almost made this as directed. I used 6 cups of milk and the sauce was very runny. I would use 4 cups at most next time. I didn't use the parmesan and did use the nutmeg. I like the flavour of the cinnamon in this but my one son doesn't. Made for ZWT6. Thanks UmmIbrahim! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif June 07, 2010

The taste was basically five stars although DH didn't like the thyme flavour for which I used dried, fresh may have omitted that comment. The problem I had with it was that the sauce didn't thicken enough in the first place with the amount of flour called for (I did use a gluten free flour mix of white rice flour and tapioca starch) I added way more to thicken it but maybe the consistency was still too runny (I'm not sure how it is supposed to be) but I was afraid of altering the directions too much. I didn't use the full amount of liquid but almost, because of that. I used heavy cream and some water as we don't buy milk. Now maybe my four stars are because of my changes and I definitely recommend people try this recipe because the bechamel sauce on top was especially good. I did not add any of the optionals but did add more garlic as we like it in this. I also only used black pepper. I used penne shaped rice pasta to be gluten free and for anyone else doing so I suggest not cooking it fully in chicken broth & water like I did because it mostly fell apart while serving. Made for PAC Spring 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 13, 2010

Salaam Ya Ukhti! JazakAllah khair for the recipe...this sounds absolutely delicious! I have some ziti I want to use up and now I know exactly what to do. Can't wait!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bint Nizam January 21, 2010
Egyptian Macaroni Bechamel