8 Reviews

This recipe turned out really well. The spices combine nicely and the bechamel gives the dish just the right amount of richness. I did change a few things when making the bechamel, though. I used 5tbs of butter and only 4 cups of milk. It came out nice and thick. I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maggie2001 September 09, 2011

This was my first attempt and it turned out good. I made this for dinner today and my family loved it. I made bechamel sauce with the Maggi Bechamel sauce powder. I had some grated cheddar cheese and mozarella cheese. So, I lighty sprinkled then on the pasta and it tasted yummy. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
safaharris April 05, 2011

This was the first time that I ATTEMPTED to make this with a success. I didnt have nutmeg for the bechamel, the way my mother always makes it, so i took a sprig of sage and just left it in the bechamel & took it out when it was finished cooking. I thank you, as an american egyptian with lack of heritage cooking, I was able to impress my husband, lol.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BusyMamaof3 February 11, 2010

Wonderful recipe!! It turned out very delicious. I made this for lunch today..and an hour later it's all gone. I did everything as the recipe said except for the tomato sauce-I doubled that. It turned out moist and flavorful..I was actually surprised how much flavor it had. I used 2% milk this time but I imagine it would be even better with whole milk. It is a great recipe for the winter months very warming and such a comfort food. Thanks UmmIbrahim.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leah's Kitchen January 20, 2010

We really loved this! I cut down on the nutmeg and cinnamon after reading other reviewers comments. I also used quite a bit of Parmesan cheese to help thicken up the sauce. This is one dish I will make on a regular basis. Great with rigatoni too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miltt June 24, 2010

I thought I had penne, but macaroni worked in a pinch. Besides that, I almost made this as directed. I used 6 cups of milk and the sauce was very runny. I would use 4 cups at most next time. I didn't use the parmesan and did use the nutmeg. I like the flavour of the cinnamon in this but my one son doesn't. Made for ZWT6. Thanks UmmIbrahim! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif June 07, 2010

The taste was basically five stars although DH didn't like the thyme flavour for which I used dried, fresh may have omitted that comment. The problem I had with it was that the sauce didn't thicken enough in the first place with the amount of flour called for (I did use a gluten free flour mix of white rice flour and tapioca starch) I added way more to thicken it but maybe the consistency was still too runny (I'm not sure how it is supposed to be) but I was afraid of altering the directions too much. I didn't use the full amount of liquid but almost, because of that. I used heavy cream and some water as we don't buy milk. Now maybe my four stars are because of my changes and I definitely recommend people try this recipe because the bechamel sauce on top was especially good. I did not add any of the optionals but did add more garlic as we like it in this. I also only used black pepper. I used penne shaped rice pasta to be gluten free and for anyone else doing so I suggest not cooking it fully in chicken broth & water like I did because it mostly fell apart while serving. Made for PAC Spring 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 13, 2010

Salaam Ya Ukhti! JazakAllah khair for the recipe...this sounds absolutely delicious! I have some ziti I want to use up and now I know exactly what to do. Can't wait!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bint Nizam January 21, 2010
Egyptian Macaroni Bechamel