Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egyptian Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egyptian Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2010

      I made as per recipe and it was 2 very generous and fillings serves for the DM and I, making for a great lunch on this rather chilly day. I blended using a stick blender and used red lentils and served with croutons on top. Thank you Lauralie41, made for Potluck Tag to take to Lainey's Simpley Delicious Lunch Party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      We truly enjoyed this delicious dish Lauralie. It was so flavorful and very quick and easy to make. I used all the ingredients listed but did not puree, as we prefer our soups chuncky. What a treat this was, my picky dh loved it. Needless to say, we will be enjoying this often. Thank you so much for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I made this soup without the celery. (just a personal preference) I did add a some cumin & garlic powder to the soup. Made for NA*ME Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      This is a good take on a traditional lentil soup. I did add a couple table spoons of ground cumin for a more authentic flavor. I served this soup with toasted pita and lemon wedges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      This was such a nice and easy soup. I used red lentils and used a vegetarian chicken flavored stock to keep it a vegetarian dish. I stuck to pretty much the same veggies except that I had a small leek that needed to be used up so I chopped that up and threw it in too. I also used the leaves on my celery stalks which always are nice in soups. I used a can of chopped tomatoes too because I am too lazy to peel a tomato. Reading the previous reviews, I decided to sort of go halfway with the puree and used a hand stick blender to blitz a bit of the soup but still leave some bits chunky. It turned out well and had a thick texture a bit like a chowder. Thank you for a very enjoyable meal. Made for the vegetarian/vegan swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      When I was cooking the veggies, I was looking for the dried lentils. I was sure I got red lentils. But no. So I used canned chickpeas. I rinsed them. And I pureed all the soup after. It's delicious that way. Later I'll try with dried lentils. Thanks Lauralie :) Made for Market tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      My DH is from Kenya (not North Africa, but still) and he went nuts for this soup-told his friends about it. I blended only half the soup and mixed it back together for a nice texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      Yummy Soup, great for the cold weather we are getting. I kept to the recipe and didn't change a thing. The texture and flavours were perfect. Thank you Lauralie41

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      I really enjoyed this soup! I used just a little olive oil (no margarine) and added a chopped jalapeno. When lentils were tender I used a stick blender to make it smooth! What a wonderful tastey way to increase the fiber in our diet!! Thanks Lauralie41!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      Although I loved the health aspects of this soup with all the vegetables and lentils, I thought that it turned out very bland and was nothing exciting to look at. I don't think I would make this soup, in particular, again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      Excellent soup! We were surprised at the full flavor and it will be a definite repeat here. The only changes I made were to use canned diced tomatoes and whole peppercorns. I pureed the soup and piped sour cream on top in each bowl to break the blah of the brown. I personally plan to serve it chunky and unpureed in the future. I served it with Grilled Flatbread #64679. Thank you Lauralie41 for a winner!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      I did'nt use margarine--I used niter kebbeh (spiced ghee)--which did give an added dimenstion to the soup. Otherwise, I made it as directed. When it was cooked, it tasted so good, we went ahead and ate it without bothering to puree it. With good bread (Lauralie41's Rustic Country Loaf #118404) this was a fabulous lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egyptian Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (293 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 690.0
     
    Calories from Fat 242
    35%
    Total Fat 26.9 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 7.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 1860.7 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.6 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 33.0 g
    132%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 33.0 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites